Pollo (Chicken) Fricassee from Puerto Rico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I tried this recipe as written except that I omitted the 1 teaspoon of ground cumin. I made the recipe in a crock pot and was hoping I would love it because I was looking for a good fricassee. I was extremely disappointed in the taste. The crock pot did a good job of cooking the chicken, however I did not like the flavor particularly of the sauce. On another day I ate the leftovers hoping the taste would improve....unfortunately it did not. Needless to say, I won't be making "Pollo (Chicken) Fricassee from Puerto Rico" again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly as it is written with the addition of one can of tomatoe sauce and homemade adoboe and Saizon seasoning (as per other comments) and love it. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Made this recipe tonight. It was great. It tastes authentic! The only changes were I didn't use cumin instead I used black pepper & added a small amount of chicken stock to it as well as about a cup of white wine and finally 1/2 can of tomato sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goodcook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This Recipe was absolutely DELICIOUS! I added a small can of Hunts tomato sauce along with 1/2 cup of Chicken broth. I like to have extra broth. Added my homemade Sofrito (similiar to ingredients in step 2). Serve it with white rice. My husband thought it was so good he went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This is awesome. So easy to prepare and so good. The only thing I did different is that I used bone in chicken thighs. Next time I might use chicken breasts for More meat. Definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a.granados

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Palmetto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Did make this recipe and it is easy to make and delicious at the end. My husband asks for this meal. Try to use defrosted meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by getsa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I am Puerto Rican but haven't really cooked a lot of Puerto Rican dishes, I leave that to my mom normally. I saw this recipe and decided that I needed to try it. The few changes that I did are I used boneless, skinless chicken breast because my husband doesn't like the drums nor skin on the meat unless it's fried chicken. I also didn't have any red wine so I didn't use it. I served it over white rice. The family loved it. Thanks, I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
How do I substitute the white wine? Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I think cilantro lovers will love this - it's almost like a chile verde with chicken. The hubby loved this but I thought it was good. Not sure what would have changed my mind and made it a *****'er - just not my flavors I think. The chicken came out super tender (almost a little too tender) and the potatoes were perfect, surprisingly not overcooked. Served this over brown rice. This came out with so much sauce which got thrown away sadly - just too much to use. A lot of work for a slow cooker recipe, I was hoping for something with shorter prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I was born and raised in PR. It tasted just like my grandma's fricase de pollo. I followed the advice from a reviewer and used beer (12 oz lager). My nana uses beer. I would recommend using a little less adobo. I make my own sofrito (peppers, onion, garlic, basil, cilantro)and freeze it so that it's ready when I need it. I cooked it on the stove. I pan friend the chicken with the ingredients except the beer. It took about 30 min to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States