Pollo (Chicken) Fricassee from Puerto Rico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was ok. Glad I tried it, but not really a keeper. I was really hoping for the best with this because it sounded delicious. The chicken fell off the bones and it was a stew, more or less. Watch out for the tendons and the end bone on the leg. These come off the drum stick and make for a nice choke hazard if you miss them. I think the veggie mix you dump on top could be a pretty good salsa with some doctoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I think this turned out pretty salty, and I only used half the salt. Next time if I make it again, I won't use any salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
My fiance said this reminded him of home (colombia), but he didn't go back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubilina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anne
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This is a wonderful dish. I made minimal changes, added some sliced bell pepper and diced onions with the potatoes. I added some extra pepper and some Mexican Chili powder to it and next time (and yes, I will cook this again!!)I'll probably double the chili powder. My slow cooker took about 6 hours on high to get the potatoes done. The chicken was moist and sooooo tender. I used chicken breasts (about 2.5 lbs) instead of legs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This was really good. Served w/ white rice. I did add a can of chicken broth, looked like it needed more fluids. I also did not have red wine, so I used white cooking wine, Also used chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: South Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Excellent dish! I'd describe this dish as extremely flavorful, moist, saucy and actually quite healthy. I served it alongside a salad. Its very filling and tasty even without a carb alongside it. I made only slight changes: 1) To make it healthier, I substituted the chicken legs for skinless, boneless, chicken tenders (I used 3 packets, so I also doubled the potatos). 2) The chicken rub calls for sazon seasoning which I did not have. So, I looked it up online and made my own version of it: 1/2 tsp dried oregano, 1/2 tsp coriander powder, 1 tbl paprika, 1/4 tsp salt, about 1 tbl tabasco sauce, about 2 tbl white wine or rice vinegar. These ingredients are some of the ingredients included in the actual sazon. Other ingredients were already in the Adobo seasoning, so I didn't bother duplicating those. 3) I thought the original recipe needed to be a bit saucier, so I added 2 cups chicken broth. This dish gave me a whole new perspective on puerto rican food and could actually turn into a staple in our household! By the way, I wanted to mention that I think you could easily make-ahead the sauce in the blender to save time. Second time I made it: I roasted the peppers, garlic and onion for about 24 min. using 1/2 the evol called for in the recipe. I did everything else the same. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This was so good. Very fresh tasting...which does not happen with a slow cooker very often. I will use boneless/skinless breast next time just to make eating it a bit easier. Great flavor. Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Grate recipe. I made this for my first meeting with the in-laws and it turned out perfectly. I didn't change any of the sauce, I just used a fryer chicken instead of the dark meat. It had enough spice and zip and it turned out very tender & moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This was good, I did play around with the spices a bit to get it just right, but this was a good base. Next time I will make sure to cut my potato slices thicker, as by the time this was done cooking, the potatoes had mostly all turned to a mushy sauce. This didn't affect the taste at all, just the presentation. Taste was very good. Next time I might try with a can of diced tomatoes as other reviewers have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stphard212

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pattyowen
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
The smell of this dish simmering all day in the slow cooker is making all of our mouths water. My children have been in the kitchen to check on it a hundred times, and they say they know it will be good because of the smell and color. I only used one potato, (red, skin on, cut small) because I want to make Spanish Rice and tortillas with it. I used white wine because that's what I had on hand. I've tasted the juices (it's still cooking) and so far it's wonderful. I would definately serve this for company for an informal gathering. Thanks so much for this recipe, it's definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattyowen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pampa, Texas, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States