Pollo (Chicken) Fricassee from Puerto Rico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I am a real boricua, I can make this "Fricase de Pollo" in one hour. I really don't know how can you said this is the real recipe. First you got all the ingredients wrong, you can use any part of the chicken, the potatoes and all the others ingredients you cut it in pieces not in slices or make a puree. A really don't wanna waste my time so if you really want the real, real, real, real recipe you can answer me back and maybe I can give you the real, real, real boricua recipe of the "Fricase de Pollo". OH and I didn't rate this because for me is not a "Fricase de Pollo" when you learn my way, the is the real way and then you can tell everyone the you got the real recipe.And just for your information a real "Fricase de Pollo is not made in a slow cooker, and I just saying OK.LOL AND YO SOY BORICUA PA QUE TU LO SEPAS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luz E. Rodriguez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrunfola89
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Just made this for dinner. It passed the Puerto Rican test with my grandma who is a true native of Puerto Rico. So good. Gotta try it! I'm definitely going to make this more often. I served this with a side of Arroz con Gandules. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Very tasty! I'm surprised that this dish didn't get more reviews. Such an authentic flavor. I made this recipe without changing a thing. The whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rere Drew
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Simple and very deliscious, adeded diced tomatoes, Hosea Cuervo, Saracha sauce, lime with a side of couscous and slice of avacado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rere Drew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
this was so delicious and fresh tasting.. we're not puerto rican so we didn't really care if it was truly authentic or not.. just so long as it tasted good! i felt like one pound of drumsticks wouldn't be enough (equaled out to only 3) so i added one more and a thigh equaling about 2 lbs.. i doubled the sazon (i found a recipe for it on another site) but should have also doubled the adobo but i was worried it would have been too salty per other reviewers.. i also omitted the additional salt knowing we could salt to taste at the end.. i didn't double all the other ingredients as i wanted it to be more of a stew and less soupy like others said it was.. i used 2 medium russetts and 3 heirloom carrots, making sure to very thickly chop them up.. our cilantro bunch was on the large side so we just used half.. next time i'd use double the adobo to accomodate for the extra chicken and add black pepper while cooking since our adobo doesn't have any.. i just cooked it in our dutch oven on the stove top since i didn't have 6 hours to put it in the crockpot.. either way, i'd love to try this again soon.. bf absolutely loved it.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Loved it.It took time to prepare but once its done put it in the crock pot it was well the work. Something different for a change. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie
Home Town: Keaau, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I make this dish Avery week !!! I put everything on the slowcoker and done :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
All u got to do is season your chicken with the Sazon, prepare potatoes throw chicken into crock pot potatoes on top save yourself the trouble and buy the sofrito mix pour on top and leave to cook, simple, quick delicious meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I have made this recipe 3 times for my girlfriends and I have to say it is the best tasting dish and so easy to make. I have served it with yellow rice and deep fried plantains and sangria. The only part of the recipe that I altered (based on a former review) was to add only chichen thighs and chicken breast which I've cut in half. I put it all in a slow cooker. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Honestly I didn't like it. I expected it to have more pizzazz. It wasn't horrible and it was easy and interesting but not suited for my palate. It definitely needed something but I don't know what. A jalapeno maybe? Would that have made it terribly inauthentic? I know nothing about Puerto Rican cooking but this was terribly bland and a little bitter. It needs a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States