Pollo (Chicken) Fricassee from Puerto Rico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I have made this recipe 3 times for my girlfriends and I have to say it is the best tasting dish and so easy to make. I have served it with yellow rice and deep fried plantains and sangria. The only part of the recipe that I altered (based on a former review) was to add only chichen thighs and chicken breast which I've cut in half. I put it all in a slow cooker. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Honestly I didn't like it. I expected it to have more pizzazz. It wasn't horrible and it was easy and interesting but not suited for my palate. It definitely needed something but I don't know what. A jalapeno maybe? Would that have made it terribly inauthentic? I know nothing about Puerto Rican cooking but this was terribly bland and a little bitter. It needs a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
My apartment is smelling wonderful with a couple more hours of cooking to go...I added a can of"Pearls" black olives just because I love em. I used a Food Processor to pureé the veg. I'm bringing it to work tomorrow for our Valentines supper and will find out then how good it is as my coworker is Puerto Rican.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianae
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I don't know if it's fair to give this recipe 5 stars even though I made some slight changes to it but the changes were slight and the end result was sooooooo good! The changes I made were: 1) Instead of using a tsp each of oregano and cumin, I used a tbsp each. 2) I forgot the bay leaves (oops!). 3) I didn't have fresh cilantro so I used 1 1/2 tbsp. dried cilantro. 4) I didn't have green peppers so I just used all red peppers. 5) I didn't have red potatoes so I used white potatoes. 6) I added a few manzanilla olives because of the other suggestions. Next time I'll make sure I have exactly what I need and try the recipe as written because when I winged it it was really good so I'm sure the original is even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I tried this recipe as written except that I omitted the 1 teaspoon of ground cumin. I made the recipe in a crock pot and was hoping I would love it because I was looking for a good fricassee. I was extremely disappointed in the taste. The crock pot did a good job of cooking the chicken, however I did not like the flavor particularly of the sauce. On another day I ate the leftovers hoping the taste would improve....unfortunately it did not. Needless to say, I won't be making "Pollo (Chicken) Fricassee from Puerto Rico" again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly as it is written with the addition of one can of tomatoe sauce and homemade adoboe and Saizon seasoning (as per other comments) and love it. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Made this recipe tonight. It was great. It tastes authentic! The only changes were I didn't use cumin instead I used black pepper & added a small amount of chicken stock to it as well as about a cup of white wine and finally 1/2 can of tomato sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goodcook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This Recipe was absolutely DELICIOUS! I added a small can of Hunts tomato sauce along with 1/2 cup of Chicken broth. I like to have extra broth. Added my homemade Sofrito (similiar to ingredients in step 2). Serve it with white rice. My husband thought it was so good he went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This is awesome. So easy to prepare and so good. The only thing I did different is that I used bone in chicken thighs. Next time I might use chicken breasts for More meat. Definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a.granados

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Palmetto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Did make this recipe and it is easy to make and delicious at the end. My husband asks for this meal. Try to use defrosted meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by getsa

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States