Pollo Bianco Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
My husband and I love this recipe! It's one of his all-time favorites. I do, however, try to use a VERY large onion and we still don't get quite enough sauce for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
this is REALLY good. I chopped the thighs into small pieces and seasoned them first w/ paprika, garlic, soul seasoning, & pepper. made according to directions. 5 min before finishing I added 1.5 Tablespoons of flour to 1 cup sour cream and added it to the sauce. OH, it's sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
This is a very easy recipe and has good results. Chicken was very tender and moist. Have never cooked with thigh meat before and this was a good start for me. I substituted 14 oz of chicken broth for most of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
I like that this dish has so few ingredients, but I found it to be kind of blah. It reminded me of chicken n dumplings or chicken soup... I don't know why I expected it to taste differently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
Although I probably won't make this again (there are so many great chicken recipes to try) this was a nice dish. I added extra seasoning on the advice of previous reviewers and served with roasted potatoes and broccoli. I also carmelized the onions longer than the recipe called for. Instead of water I used homemade unsalted chicken broth. The sauce was very pleasant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
This turned out quite well, though I think it would definitely benefit from seasoning the chicken a bit before browning. It seemed to take a long time for the onions to caramelize - they actually didn't until about 1/2 way through the 30 minute cooking time when I almost let the pan go dry. I then added more water, and it made a nice, tasty sauce. Be forewarned, if you're sensitive to the smell of onions cooking (that is, if onions tear you up), you may have to mostly avoid your kitchen until the onions caramelize - it's pretty powerful! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
If I could give this recipe 10 stars I would! This was FABULOUS : ) I just made this last night, although I did make some slight changes. I used chicken breasts, instead of thighs, and increased the olive oil to 3 Tbls. I also seasoned the chicken liberally (before browning in oil) with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. I also cooked the onions much longer than the recipe stated (about 13 minutes) because I like to get my onions really carmalized and bring out their flavor-be careful not to burn them! I served the chicken with oven roasted potatoes as suggested (I used yukon gold potatoes, quarted them, and tossed them with olive oil, cumin, salt, pepper, garlic powder, and paprika-baked at 475 degrees for 20 minutes) and I did toss the potatoes with the onion mixture. Very, very simple and it tastes out of this world! Do not be fooled by it's simplicity, and do not hesitate to add your own spices as this recipe is a wonderful base that can be adjusted to suit any palate. A +++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
My husband loved this dish over rice! I added some oregano, rosemary, and parsley. You really need a large onion in order to have enough gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
The whole family loved this !! I only changed a couple of things to suit us... I chopped the boneless chicken thighs in to large chunks and added some basil, parsley, oregano and garlic when the water went in .. and right at the end (just because my kids love gravey) I added some gravey powder mixed with a little water and then let it heat until thick... yummmy. My boys all had seconds and hubby cleaned the pan !!! Thanks the Aussies loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
I absolutely love this recipe. It reminded me of a dish my own grandmother used to make when I was a child. It is the simplicity of this recipe that makes it so good. Sometimes simple is better...and this recipe proves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States