Polka Dots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I love to make these cookies. I have made them umpteen times. I make them with brownie mix and not cake mix. The ones with the cake mix are too, well...cakey. These turn out yummy chewy and they are the easiest cookies in the world to make. I have found the trick to make them perfect, non-spreading, and non-sticking. Instead of adding the eggs and oil separately; beat the eggs and oil together in a small bowl first, then add it to the mix and combine. Now, you can do your additions. Butterscotch, semi-sweet, milk chocolate, heath bits, coconut, nuts, or whatever your fancy. I use a small cookie scoop and cooke for 12 minutes. Crunchy on the outside, chewy on the inside. They turn out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarlingDash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I really wanted these to be amazing. I read all of the reviews and decided I was going to go with the exact recipe with one exception. I refrigerated the dough for about an hour. There is nothing wrong with the taste of these cookies but the are very difficult to work with. All the time you save with prep you waste after baking. You have to watch like a hawk in the oven because they go from under to over very quickly. You also have to time your removal from cookie sheet precisely...too short cookie literally falls apart in your hand making a yummy mess. Too long and you need a crow bar to get them off of tray, again, yummy mess. I ended up only getting about 10 servable cookies. the rest were a yummy crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaisinKane aka Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Damascus, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly as written. I did not use a Cake Mix, like alot of others did, because it called for a Brownie Mix. Based on actual recipe posted, these did not turn out well at all! I only baked them for 7 minutes, second sheet 6 minutes. Looked fine when they came out, but when I tried to remove them from the sheet, they were stuck like glue! I ended up with a crumbled mess. Even had to break out a knife to scrape them off. Rated 2 stars ONLY because submitter did suggest a cake mix as well and everyone who did it that way had no problems. Otherwise, it's a zero.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dakotaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This is the best quick dessert recipe I have found yet. I usually use a cake mx when I make this. I tried the spice cake mix idea and it was great. Plus, these cookies have a great shape and thickness for ice cream sandwich cookies. Just soften some ice cream, shovel some out with a spoon and place it on a cookie. put another cookie on top, stick the whole thing in a zip-loc bag then immediately in the freezer. Take out and serve whenever you want. This is a great treat for a party (nothing fancy, cuz it can be a bit messy while eating) or for any hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
1st batch made as stated and the taste was fine, but the cookies really spread out -way too much IMHO 2nd batch -substituted melted butter for oil and added 3/4 cup of quick oats. MUCH BETTER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Mielke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I couldn't rate these a five because I don't like white chocolate and therefore didn't make this recipe as written, but I chopped up York Peppermint Patties instead and got rave reviews on these. I would definitely use parchment paper for these and err on the side of caution with the time. I also noticed that these spread differently depending on which brand of brownie mix you use. When I used Duncan Hines mix they spread really flat and crispy and only needed 8 minutes to bake. Pillsbury brownie mix resulted in a puffier cookie that needed about 9 minutes to bake and came off the cookie sheet easier....another reason I couldn't quite rate these a 5, the recipe is not consistent. Not a fault of the poster, just a matter of fact based on my making them two times with different brands of product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Quick and easy! Both times I used Reese's Pieces instead of choc chips. Just like eating a little brownie. I also rolled them into balls the second time to make sure they had a chewie center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Yumm-o! These were super easy and dare I say, better than making them from scratch. I mixed the dough with peanut butter chips and refrigerated for a couple hours. I used a small cookie scoop, baked 12 minutes and cooled 5 minutes on the pan (which was lined with parchment paper.) It needed the full 12 minutes because the dough was cold and the scoop made a thick cookie. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This is a good, quick recipe when you're in the mood for cookies but don't want to make it from scratch. I used a brownie mix and followed the directions. I made sure, though, to line my baking sheet with parchment paper---easier clean-up and makes sure the cookies won't stick! I also baked this for ONLY 8 MINUTES. It will look a little undone but will continue to bake when you take it out of the oven. Leave the cookies on the sheet for a minute and transfer to a wire rack. My cookies came out looking crackled and flat (not a bad thing), crispy on the edges and chewy in the middle. Really good! (Store leftovers in an airtight container.) TIP: Everyone's oven is different. Try baking one small batch at 8 minutes, another at 9 or 10. See what works best for you. 8 minutes worked best for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mournfields

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2001
I didn't have brownie mix in the house, but plenty of cake mixes, so I used a devils food cake mix... soooo easy and soooo good!! thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States