Polka Dots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This is one of our favorites. I usually use peanut butter chips instead of chocolate. They are fabulous! I have made cookies for years like this with cake mix. Devils food and mini chocolate chips are just as good as these, just don't over cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Just took these out of the oven...nice and chewy, but very sweet. I used white chips...(Nestle's morsels)...and probably should have used something that said "chocolate" in it. Not much chocolate flavor, but good, nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I really wanted these to be amazing. I read all of the reviews and decided I was going to go with the exact recipe with one exception. I refrigerated the dough for about an hour. There is nothing wrong with the taste of these cookies but the are very difficult to work with. All the time you save with prep you waste after baking. You have to watch like a hawk in the oven because they go from under to over very quickly. You also have to time your removal from cookie sheet precisely...too short cookie literally falls apart in your hand making a yummy mess. Too long and you need a crow bar to get them off of tray, again, yummy mess. I ended up only getting about 10 servable cookies. the rest were a yummy crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaisinKane aka Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Damascus, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I made these with one box of Devils Food Cake mix. Baked for 10 minutes. Kids and husband loved them! VERY easy to make! Make sure to let them cool for a while before removing from baking rack. I put the cooling rack with cookies in the fridge for a few minutes, so they wouldn't have to wait so long to eat them. They were GREAT with a cold glass of milk! What a great way to make cookies when you are short on time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I was pleasantly surprised by how good these were. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This is an awesome recipe - I have to admit that I hate brownies from mixes but inevitably end up with boxed mixes. I must get amnesia in the grocery. I made this recipe as written, just substituted peanut butter chips for the white. They turned out amazing! The texture is crunchy and chewy and the chocolate flavor is more intense than a usual brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
These tasted great, but were flat, and I mean FLAT...my pancakes are fluffier. I couldn't take them to the luncheon that they were intended for. Like cardstock flat, huge disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKinney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Port, Missouri, USA
Living In: Maryville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
1st batch made as stated and the taste was fine, but the cookies really spread out -way too much IMHO 2nd batch -substituted melted butter for oil and added 3/4 cup of quick oats. MUCH BETTER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Mielke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Yummy and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I love to make these cookies. I have made them umpteen times. I make them with brownie mix and not cake mix. The ones with the cake mix are too, well...cakey. These turn out yummy chewy and they are the easiest cookies in the world to make. I have found the trick to make them perfect, non-spreading, and non-sticking. Instead of adding the eggs and oil separately; beat the eggs and oil together in a small bowl first, then add it to the mix and combine. Now, you can do your additions. Butterscotch, semi-sweet, milk chocolate, heath bits, coconut, nuts, or whatever your fancy. I use a small cookie scoop and cooke for 12 minutes. Crunchy on the outside, chewy on the inside. They turn out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarlingDash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States