Polish Style Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I have tinkered with this so many times- but it's good every time. How could you really mess it up? I say- take this basic recipe and expand--especially with seasoning. I have started to layer the onions in each layer- and I personally like a potato layer on top- I dont like the crunchy, chewy noodle that forms on top without a protective barrier. I've added boursin cheese, cheddar, garlic etc... sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Family enjoyed very much. We added more salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This was ok. It's a lot of work for what tastes like a "twice baked potato" type casserole. I used mashed (skins on) baby new potatoes instead of the instant potatoes. I sauteed the onions in butter with garlic. I also added 1 cup sour cream, milk, salt, and pepper to the potatoes. I layered in some sharp cheddar cheese as well. It did taste similar to peirogies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This recipe is awesome. I found because their aren't a lot of ingredients, you can mess around with it. I ended up adding 2 pounds of ground beef with some bacon. I also used the suggestion of mixing the cream cheese before adding in the potatoes, and it made everything much easier when it came to mixing. It is a very hearty dish. I made it for my fiance and myself and reduced the recipe to 4 servings and we still had tons of left overs for the other room mates. This is definately a recipe I will be using again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie Red

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
this recipe was awesome! i followed most of the recipe using the cream cheese in the mash patatos. i did grill an onion and mix it with the patatos and on each layer of patato i sprinkled sharp cheddar cheese. i then put more grilled onions on the top and put the rest of the chedar cheese. the flavor was great, like a hug on a plate! thanks so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
great meal needs a layer on the top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andyslair6969

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This is the first time I've tried a recipe from this site and everyone at my house liked it. I made the mashed potatoes, added a little bit of the flavored instant potatoes, 8 oz. of sour cream, a pound of crumbled bacon, cheddar cheese, and then a little of the cheese over the onions. I also did a thin layer of the potatoes before the onion topping. Thanks for the great idea-I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I love this as a (make ahead!) side dish. I add the cream cheese before I add the potato flakes, because it incorporates easier in the hot water. As for consistency of your mashed potatoes, I'd say err on the creamier side (add more water or milk) as opposed to stiff, but keep in mind the buttery onions on top add a bit of moisture as well. I also like to grill portabella mushrooms as an additional topping to the grilled onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I was so excited to make this dish... but was very disappointed in the out come. The dish was not a total flop, but it just did not jump out at me to make me want to make it again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This is ok, tastes like a perogie. I have only made it once, it makes tons, and there is only my husband, my 15 month old and myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States