Polish Style Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Very bland, it's missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
WOW! We marked this recipe as a "winner". Very much like pierogies. I would consider this to be a base recipe. It's fine as is. We added a little cheddar, caramelized onions and sauerkraut, and served alongside some Kielbasa. I think it would be sensational with just some extra butter. It's a keeper, and we'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Pretty good. I changed this up a bit and added 2 pounds of ground beef and then layered this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I added bacon and cheddar cheese to the potato layer. I also added a little cheddar cheese on top of onions. The potatoes need more liquid. Perhaps some sour cream? Milk? They need something. Next time I will also add more seasonings to the potatoes, salt, pepper, garlic powder maybe. Lastly, I will add more onions, because the sauteed onion really is what made this dish, and I don't think one onion did the job. I will definitely make it again, but with the changes I've noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Added 1/2 a cabbage with this meal. Very starchy. Would be better as a side dish for sure with meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I had to go back to make sure I had not forgotten an ingredient on this one. Some cream or milk along with cheese would have made it very good. Also, it was really bland. I was hoping this would be an easy to dish to throw together for my kids, but not so much. On a side note...I did follow the recipe exactly as written. I'm not the most experienced cook, but I'm pretty sure I did everything right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
needs a little more milk..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parsippany, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Port Clinton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This was totally excellent. I'm Polish and watch my parents make pierogies all my life. This is a tribute to that hard work. I think that either you need more noodles and potatos or a smaller baking pan. What I did was just have two layers of noddles, one on the bottom and one on the top. I also spinkled rosemary and basil on the potatos and added lots more onions. I did use instant mashed potatoes & that was fine except they were kind of hard to spread. I will always, always make this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cheverly, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Why is everyone adding MEAT to a vegtarian dish? Traditionally, this is a peasant dish and if you really want to capture true Pierogie flavor, use lots of farmer's or mild cheddar cheese into your mashed potatoes; also, mix jullienned, wilted cabbage with the softened cream cheese and add a scattering of sliced sauteed or reconstituted mushrooms, then layer that over the potatoes; more flavor and will keep it from drying out. Also I sautee the onions separately and top the whole dish off last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I served this as a side dish and actually had to go back to look at the recipe to see if I made a mistake. We found it bland and pasty and I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States