Polish Style Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Very bland, it's missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
WOW! We marked this recipe as a "winner". Very much like pierogies. I would consider this to be a base recipe. It's fine as is. We added a little cheddar, caramelized onions and sauerkraut, and served alongside some Kielbasa. I think it would be sensational with just some extra butter. It's a keeper, and we'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Pretty good. I changed this up a bit and added 2 pounds of ground beef and then layered this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I added bacon and cheddar cheese to the potato layer. I also added a little cheddar cheese on top of onions. The potatoes need more liquid. Perhaps some sour cream? Milk? They need something. Next time I will also add more seasonings to the potatoes, salt, pepper, garlic powder maybe. Lastly, I will add more onions, because the sauteed onion really is what made this dish, and I don't think one onion did the job. I will definitely make it again, but with the changes I've noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Added 1/2 a cabbage with this meal. Very starchy. Would be better as a side dish for sure with meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I had to go back to make sure I had not forgotten an ingredient on this one. Some cream or milk along with cheese would have made it very good. Also, it was really bland. I was hoping this would be an easy to dish to throw together for my kids, but not so much. On a side note...I did follow the recipe exactly as written. I'm not the most experienced cook, but I'm pretty sure I did everything right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
needs a little more milk..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parsippany, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Port Clinton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This was totally excellent. I'm Polish and watch my parents make pierogies all my life. This is a tribute to that hard work. I think that either you need more noodles and potatos or a smaller baking pan. What I did was just have two layers of noddles, one on the bottom and one on the top. I also spinkled rosemary and basil on the potatos and added lots more onions. I did use instant mashed potatoes & that was fine except they were kind of hard to spread. I will always, always make this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cheverly, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Why is everyone adding MEAT to a vegtarian dish? Traditionally, this is a peasant dish and if you really want to capture true Pierogie flavor, use lots of farmer's or mild cheddar cheese into your mashed potatoes; also, mix jullienned, wilted cabbage with the softened cream cheese and add a scattering of sliced sauteed or reconstituted mushrooms, then layer that over the potatoes; more flavor and will keep it from drying out. Also I sautee the onions separately and top the whole dish off last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I served this as a side dish and actually had to go back to look at the recipe to see if I made a mistake. We found it bland and pasty and I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States