Polish Sourdough Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Obviously the recipe is incorrect, but that said, with a few minor adjustments (more salt, more caraway, less flour), it makes a good loaf of rye. The overnight sponge needs to be wet - like thick batter wet, so make sure you add enough water. If you wind up with extra dough in the end, who cares? Make a roll. As it states, add flour until the dough pulls away from the sides of the mixing bowl and isn't too sticky to knead with your hands. Keep adding flour as you knead, just a handful at a time, until you get the tacky consistency you're looking for. Form a loaf, let it rise and bake as directed. Just for fun, I baked mine in the Pyrex mixing bowl. It made a flying rye saucer! If you like your crust chewy, brush the top with a little water after baking and removing from the baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Didn't work for me, how wet should starter be at tbe first stage? My bread rose,but was very spongy and never rose in the oven, no spring so very flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
It work out wonderful. I used my sour dough starter (made from rye flour) followed the "formula" starting with only 4 cups of bread flour and it was spot on! banged out 6 rounds today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ErichKD
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
The dough was as dry as the Sahara dessert, needed 2 more cup water and used only 6 cups bread flour, taste is great, mad 2 loves in 11x5 pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Very nice. If you don't have good sourdough starter, but can't wait to try this recipe, substitute a pint of sour cream plus one extra TBS (one packet) of yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was a horrible waste of a lot of organic flour. When I added 4 cups of rye flour, it was so thick and heavy that I knew it was never going to work out. I was right. It never rose at all-total mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jimpres
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Recipe has to much flour and not enough liquid to make the bread. 4 C of flour may work but needed more liquid at that. I have it rising now. Bread came out to be 4" tall two loaves. Used 2 1/2 cups water and 1 1/2 cup butter milk and only 4 C bread flour, and 4 C rye flour. Tastes just fine. A little less rye flour will make it rise more. But it is fine as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
The recipe says to add an additional 8 cups bread flour and there is no way that much flour will work int he recipe. I had a hard time getting 4 cups of bread flour worked into the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This is so easy to make !!!!! Ive made this many times ,continues to be our favorite .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This recipe is great; use 4 cups of white flour not 8 cups; if someone actually did this, not much wonder it was dry; to make it more authentic double up on the caraway.....very nice!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States