Polish Sourdough Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
I just started making bread & this was my first attempt at rye bread. I have to say this is a fairly easy recipe. The bread has a nice texture & it tastes good too. This recipe did make 2 9x5 loaves instead of 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
I found this bread was quite easy to prepare, fantastically fragrant with a wonderful taste. Gorgeous with lashings of butter and plum powidel...yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
I was sorely disappointed with this recipe. I've been looking for an "authentic" Eastern European rye bread, but this was definately not it. The loaf came out dry, fairly hard, and absolutely flavorless. I'd look elsewhere for a good rye load.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Even though I have sourdough starter, I decided to try this version. I was disappointed. I think it would work using 2 cups of sourdough starter instead of the buttermilk mix sitting overnight and the addition of caraway seeds. It is an ok start to making sourdough rye, then adjusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I found this bread good but seems to be missing something. Using a sour dough starter could make the difference. I have some ideas. Will let you know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Cobalt, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This recipe is great; use 4 cups of white flour not 8 cups; if someone actually did this, not much wonder it was dry; to make it more authentic double up on the caraway.....very nice!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This is so easy to make !!!!! Ive made this many times ,continues to be our favorite .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
The recipe says to add an additional 8 cups bread flour and there is no way that much flour will work int he recipe. I had a hard time getting 4 cups of bread flour worked into the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jimpres
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Recipe has to much flour and not enough liquid to make the bread. 4 C of flour may work but needed more liquid at that. I have it rising now. Bread came out to be 4" tall two loaves. Used 2 1/2 cups water and 1 1/2 cup butter milk and only 4 C bread flour, and 4 C rye flour. Tastes just fine. A little less rye flour will make it rise more. But it is fine as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was a horrible waste of a lot of organic flour. When I added 4 cups of rye flour, it was so thick and heavy that I knew it was never going to work out. I was right. It never rose at all-total mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States