Polish Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This was easy/quick to make and had a lot of flavor. It was hard to keep the filling on the bun. I reduced the recipe to just one third and I got six sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I made these for my Tuesday card club lunch and all the ladies liked them I found the joes easy to make and delish. I made half a recpie as there are 6 of us. I couldn't find sauerkraut with caraway seed so I added 1tsp. caraway seed with the sauerkraut. My only change next time will be the rolls the kaiser ones ( to me) are just to much bread ( I'm not a bread fan). Thanks Laurie for a different sloppy joe that is oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olean, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Good taste. Nice light alternative to bbq sloppy joes. Next time I'll leave out the broth and include the liquid from the kraut and add the kraut at the last minute to keep the tanginess from cooking out. I couldn't find kraut with caraway seeds so I added 1 tsp caraway seeds. These are good on Rye rolls with swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This was good. I felt like it needed more of a sauce.. I'm just a condiment girl.. but it was good and may make again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
These are a really good alternative to the tradional sloppy joes with red sauce. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I thought this was alright but the family didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Made this for New Years Eve - Loved it too much!! We used the juice from the kraut instead of the broth, added a tsp of worcestershire, a little black pepper, and garlic salt. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Very tasty, but a bit difficult to eat. I did a third-size batch (with one pound of ground beef), and I took the suggestion of using some of the sauerkraut liquid with a little water instead of broth. Our fresh onion was getting old, so I used maybe ½ tsp onion flakes instead. The taste was much like a cabbage roll (delicious!) but it needed sauce or cheese or something to keep it from falling out of the bun. My husband inhaled it, so I'll definitely make it again! Thanks for sharing, Laurie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
We reallyy enjoyed this and I made this per the recipe. We had it on rolls with thousand island dressing and swiss cheese. This disappeared quickly in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I think this would have been good as written, but I did change it quite a bit. I used crumbled polish sausage, didn't use the chicken stock, just the sauerkraut juice. I also added about a half cup sour cream at the end, and that gave it a great taste as well as the saucy texture of a regular sloppy joe. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States