Polish Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I had leftover sauerkraut. I didn't know what to do with it, so I loved the idea of ground beef and sauerkraut combo, but didn't have celery or bell pepper, so I substituted some chopped carrots and mushrooms during cooking, instead, added garlic and Italian seasoning to the mix, and then fresh, diced tomatoes right before serving them on toasted hamburger buns. (I also used the sauerkraut juice tip from other reviewers) My husband and I both loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Not that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I liked it mom ate it and Bill said don't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I've made this recipe several times and we absolutely love it! Don't forget the thinly sliced Swiss and marble/rye bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinMay
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
A nice base for a different type of sandwich. I couldn't find sauerkraut w/ caraway, so I subbed extra celery seed. Eliminated green pepper (wasn't in the mood for that taste), celery (since I used celery seed) and onions (used onion powder for flavor). Flavored the meat with seasonings while it was cooking. Used 2/3 ground turkey, 1/3 ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catastrophiccook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This was not to our liking.--That is not what I wrote. I wrote we threw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Great recipe. I used a 4 pound pork roast as I had no ground beef, baked it, shredded it and put it in the slowcooker for a few hours with 1 quart sauerkraut with juice, 1 cup chicken broth, 1 onion and 3 celery stalks. No bell pepper. Nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I think this would have been good as written, but I did change it quite a bit. I used crumbled polish sausage, didn't use the chicken stock, just the sauerkraut juice. I also added about a half cup sour cream at the end, and that gave it a great taste as well as the saucy texture of a regular sloppy joe. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
We reallyy enjoyed this and I made this per the recipe. We had it on rolls with thousand island dressing and swiss cheese. This disappeared quickly in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Very tasty, but a bit difficult to eat. I did a third-size batch (with one pound of ground beef), and I took the suggestion of using some of the sauerkraut liquid with a little water instead of broth. Our fresh onion was getting old, so I used maybe ½ tsp onion flakes instead. The taste was much like a cabbage roll (delicious!) but it needed sauce or cheese or something to keep it from falling out of the bun. My husband inhaled it, so I'll definitely make it again! Thanks for sharing, Laurie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States