Polish Sausage with Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I prepared this recipe exactly as stated except using cooking wine instead of drinking wine. I thought that the texture was very odd due to the cornstarch. It was creamy which was a strange mix with the cabbage. I'd give it 3 *'s but my daughter actually liked it alot. I would prefer it- I think without the cornstarch but I don't know if it would be worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Wonderful! I used Red Cream Concord wine which is very sweet so I did not need to add any sugar. I rinsed my cabbage w/ boiling water and simmered it on low and had no trouble with burning. It tastes so sweet and fruity. Definately a KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
My husband and I really like this dish with a few alterations. I do not rinse the cabbage in boiling water, and I do not use brown sugar. I use 1 cup of wine and 1/2 cup of chicken broth to cook the cabbage, and I add about 1 T Worcestershire sauce, 2 T dijon mustard, and about 1/2 t garlic salt. The first time I made it, I almost omitted the 30 minutes of cook time because polish sausage is pre-cooked, but cooking the sausage with the cabbage infuses a fantastic flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
This recipe is GREAT !!! The only advice I have is to make sure you give yourself plenty of time and not make it at the last minute. Simmer it slowly and make sure that after you add the cornstarch and brown sugar mixture to watch it closely, as there is not much liquid and could burn easily. I simmered it real low and watched it closely. I used Alice White Merlot and it was excellent. I think that by pouring the boiling water over it would soften it a bit and reduce the cooking time. I skipped this step and it turned out excellent. Also, the color is wonderful. Definitely a keeper of a recipe. Enjoy !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
This was a very good dish. I skipped the first step like some of the reviewers suggested and it turned out fine. I didn't use the red cabbage I used the regular green kind and it was still good. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
SURPRISE! SURPRISE! Much better than I expected--colorful, tasty, a change from the norm.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
This is an interesting recipe.. I will make it as written again, sometime, especially if red cabbage happens to be on sale. It did, however, give me all kinds of ideas for revisions. I plan to try it with green cabbage, skip the boiling water step (I'm really not sure what that is all about!), add onion, garlic, bell pepper, carrot and use cider vinegar instead of the brown sugar. A whole new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
Definitely a keeper recipe. I substituted beef broth for the wine and it turned out great. Even better the next day for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
I'm afraid this recipe was a big disappointment. I followed the recipe, with no changes...it was bland and just not to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAPPYCOOKER03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
This tasted REALLY GOOD, and my fiancee loved it too, even though he's not crazy about cabbage. A word of warning - my cabbage burned while it simmered for 45 minutes, there wasn't enough oil or liquid to prevent it. I would add some beef broth in addition to the wine next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUCKOOBIRD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States