Polish Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
This soup is great! Just like my Babcia makes. Add a bay leaf when simmering---remember to take it out. Also, I sauteed the onion till golden, THEN added the other ingredients. To make it VERY good, add 1/2 of heavy cream to the pot after it's all done cooking (don't boil it with the cream in it...).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This was an excellent soup. All my family loved it. I took the advice of some of the previous cooks and sautéed the kielbasa and one whole onion until golden brown. I did not use two onions, that would have been way too much for us. Once sauteed I added the kielbasa and onions with the celery, carrots cut in quarters, and the red potatoes to the water in a big pot. For seasoning I added about 1 1/2 to 2 tsp. of dill, parsley, minced garlic, pepper, crushed bay leaves, about 1/4 tsp salt and 3 cubes of bouillon. Once served, I topped it with some DUBLINER cheese by Kerrygold. Its a cheese imported from Ireland so I don't know how easy it is to find, I just happened to come across it ... but it topped it perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This is really good. I did make a few additions--used chicken broth instead of water, added salt & pepper, minced garlic, parsley & dill. This soup is 5 stars with the additions I made. Thanks, I will be making this again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Happy, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Super fast, everyone liked it - easy 5 stars. Of course, I made changes. I didn't use 2 pounds of meat, I only used one pound of kielbasa, which I sauteed with one chopped onion. To the pot I added the bag of baby carrots, celery, 4 red potatoes (chopped), one sweet potato (peeled and chopped), and 1/2 cup red lentils. I used chicken stock and added Mrs. Dash and salt and pepper. Big hit as the lentils thickened it up and added extra protein without breaking the bank. I cooked it for about 2 hours at simmer and it came out really good. I was tempted to add spinach or peas, some more color, but I am glad I left it as is. Great last minute meal maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
As is, this recipe is tasteless even with a bit of salt. I made it according to recipe and when I tasted it, ended up having to do A LOT of doctoring just to make it palatable. I read the rest of the reviews and realized that not ONE person rated it according to the recipe but according to the way they made it. Come on, people, these kind of reviews are NOT helpful! Who has the flippin time to read all the reviews to get the REAL recipe that is being rated! I am not a picky eater but even I would not have eaten this original recipe unless it was the only thing to eat after not having had food for a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
We really like this. Plus it was just really easy to make. I used homemade chicken broth for the liquid because I had it. I also added parsnips and about a cup of chopped Napa Cabbage (because I had it) Very tasty and really very easy. I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
This seemed to be the kind of soup that improved with time. Being only my husband and me, we had leftovers for a couple of days, and as time passed the flavor increased. I cut up the carrots and the potatos to bite size, and sauteed the onions and half of the sausage before adding to the pot. Also, I had intended to use chicken broth instead of water, but forgot. I found myself wishing I had. Though the soup was still okay, the water seemed to tone down the flavor a lot, so next time we will probably try broth, and sautee all of the sausage and onion first. Can't wait to try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Pretty Good. Easy recipe that you can play with a bit. I would use a little less kielbasa, the soup had a bit more fat in it then I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I thought this was good, but it needed something, maybe some spices. I saw the other reviews added a few things. I would have given it four, but for over 700 calories, it wouldn't be worth it for me to make again since that would be half of what I would eat in a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This is a very good soup!! Just delicious and so easy (I didn't even take the time to peel the potatoes) . Hit the spot on a cold winter night. I wasn't quite sure how much water to add. Will add a little less next time turned out a little runny (my fault). I also added a little salt,pepper and parsley. Can't wait to try again. Thanks for the great recipe!! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States