Polish Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Delicious soup. I'm giving it 4 stars because of the amount of fat and calories in the original. I modified the recipe by using a mix of low-sodium chicken and beef broths, and using turkey kielbasa. I also used cannellini beans and pinto beans in place of the potatoes for more fiber and protein. Sauteing the onions, celery, and some added garlic with the kielbasa prior to adding the beans, carrots, and liquid really pumps up the flavor, too. To make individual bites easier, cut the baby carrots into 2 or 3 pieces each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Pretty Good. Easy recipe that you can play with a bit. I would use a little less kielbasa, the soup had a bit more fat in it then I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
My family really enjoyed this soup . I added a pkg of onion soup mix & 2 drops of liquid smoke to boost the flavor , as well as following other reviewers tips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bouquet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This is one of the easiest recipes I've ever made, and one of the best too. Use chicken broth and add pepper for extra. Great for big groups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I was expecting this to be kind of blah but was pleasantly surprised. I sauteed the onions, carrots, and celery in a very small amount of olive oil with salt & pepper. Then added the potatoes and sausage and sauteed that for just a few more minutes before adding water. I was surprised how tasty it was with just using salt, pepper and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This was easy and great tasting... I added 1/3 lb of bacon, a little fennel, dill, garlic, paprika (no idea what I'm doing...ha) Here is my problem... I used 2 quarts of chicken broth and about 8 oz of water. How do I figure out how many servings are now in the pot? How much is a serving?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This is a winner, I used diced red potatoes and a can of carrots/peas and one of celery soup. 2 bay leaves, pinch of dill,pinch of ground cummin, and 1/2 cup of low fat half and half. I sliced two smoked sausages and cooked the onions with them, with 1teaspoon of bacon drippings. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I really like this soup which is not only very easy to make, it also hits the spot quite superbly. And, I certainly use my own chicken stock instead of water, just like my ol' Granny did many years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChileHead

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Super fast, everyone liked it - easy 5 stars. Of course, I made changes. I didn't use 2 pounds of meat, I only used one pound of kielbasa, which I sauteed with one chopped onion. To the pot I added the bag of baby carrots, celery, 4 red potatoes (chopped), one sweet potato (peeled and chopped), and 1/2 cup red lentils. I used chicken stock and added Mrs. Dash and salt and pepper. Big hit as the lentils thickened it up and added extra protein without breaking the bank. I cooked it for about 2 hours at simmer and it came out really good. I was tempted to add spinach or peas, some more color, but I am glad I left it as is. Great last minute meal maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I sauteed the sausage and onions a bit first. I also added some Mrs. Dash seasoning and used beef broth instead of water. All this didn't change the recipe that much. I just thought using water would be too bland. Maybe next time I'll mash the potatoes a bit like one rater said. Good recipe. Definitely worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States