Polish Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
This soup is great! Just like my Babcia makes. Add a bay leaf when simmering---remember to take it out. Also, I sauteed the onion till golden, THEN added the other ingredients. To make it VERY good, add 1/2 of heavy cream to the pot after it's all done cooking (don't boil it with the cream in it...).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This is a very good soup!! Just delicious and so easy (I didn't even take the time to peel the potatoes) . Hit the spot on a cold winter night. I wasn't quite sure how much water to add. Will add a little less next time turned out a little runny (my fault). I also added a little salt,pepper and parsley. Can't wait to try again. Thanks for the great recipe!! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I've made this soup so many times; it's delicious! It's a staple in the regular dishes that I prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This was an excellent soup. All my family loved it. I took the advice of some of the previous cooks and sautéed the kielbasa and one whole onion until golden brown. I did not use two onions, that would have been way too much for us. Once sauteed I added the kielbasa and onions with the celery, carrots cut in quarters, and the red potatoes to the water in a big pot. For seasoning I added about 1 1/2 to 2 tsp. of dill, parsley, minced garlic, pepper, crushed bay leaves, about 1/4 tsp salt and 3 cubes of bouillon. Once served, I topped it with some DUBLINER cheese by Kerrygold. Its a cheese imported from Ireland so I don't know how easy it is to find, I just happened to come across it ... but it topped it perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Super fast, everyone liked it - easy 5 stars. Of course, I made changes. I didn't use 2 pounds of meat, I only used one pound of kielbasa, which I sauteed with one chopped onion. To the pot I added the bag of baby carrots, celery, 4 red potatoes (chopped), one sweet potato (peeled and chopped), and 1/2 cup red lentils. I used chicken stock and added Mrs. Dash and salt and pepper. Big hit as the lentils thickened it up and added extra protein without breaking the bank. I cooked it for about 2 hours at simmer and it came out really good. I was tempted to add spinach or peas, some more color, but I am glad I left it as is. Great last minute meal maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I really like this soup which is not only very easy to make, it also hits the spot quite superbly. And, I certainly use my own chicken stock instead of water, just like my ol' Granny did many years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChileHead

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This is a winner, I used diced red potatoes and a can of carrots/peas and one of celery soup. 2 bay leaves, pinch of dill,pinch of ground cummin, and 1/2 cup of low fat half and half. I sliced two smoked sausages and cooked the onions with them, with 1teaspoon of bacon drippings. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I was expecting this to be kind of blah but was pleasantly surprised. I sauteed the onions, carrots, and celery in a very small amount of olive oil with salt & pepper. Then added the potatoes and sausage and sauteed that for just a few more minutes before adding water. I was surprised how tasty it was with just using salt, pepper and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This is one of the easiest recipes I've ever made, and one of the best too. Use chicken broth and add pepper for extra. Great for big groups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
My family really enjoyed this soup . I added a pkg of onion soup mix & 2 drops of liquid smoke to boost the flavor , as well as following other reviewers tips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bouquet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States