Polish Sausage Kraut Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was really good. I drained the water off the kraut. Left out the sour cream and flour. It was perfect without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LordGary

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maryland Heights, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Wow. This was a surprise hit. I had some kielbasa in the freezer and a can of sauerkraut, so I was looking for a way to jazz it up. In order to speed up cooking, I put everything other than the sour cream and flour in the skillet from the beginning with the potatoes and carrots sliced thin. I also used dried minced onion and garlic powder. I brought it to a boil and simmered it all for about 20 minutes until the potatoes and carrots were tender and the meat thermometer read 170+. Then I added the sour cream and flour. As I noticed all that delicious creamy sauce, I quickly decided to cook some egg noodles to serve this over. Yum! My 6-year-old son proclaimed it his favorite food. What a shocker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Try without sour cream. Drain suerkraut well. Joe loved just the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
My German Grandmother used to make something like this. It was even better than I remembered!!! Even my son who hates sauerkraut LOVED this. I will DEFINITELY make this again and again and again. I did make a few minor changes though. I diced and sauted the sausage with the carrots and garlic so I didnt need the butter. I used chicken bouillon instead of beef. I mixed in the sauerkraut (which I squeezed the liquid out of) instead of layeriing it. Will double next time for leftovers. YUM!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Thomas Hand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I didn't have caraway seeds, so I didn't use them. And like others omitted the sour cream/ flour step (although he added sour cream to the finished product after I mentioned I left out that step). My boyfriend almost ate the WHOLE PAN!!! He left a small corner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I made this today wondering how it would turn out. GREAT! It is one of the most delicious dishes i've ever eaten. HOWEVER, next time I will make it in a dutch oven, as the skillet is just not deep enough and it makes a mess of the stove while cooking. I had a surprise guest for lunch and she loved it, too. The only thing i would add might be some chopped parsley scattered over it as garnish. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Delicious! I read a lot of the reviews... Use the caraway! I prefer it without the sour cream & flour. My husband and 4 year old loved it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
We really enjoyed this one! Just a few minor changes for us though.....used turkey kielbasa, olive oil instead of butter, totally elimanated the potatoes(and made pierogies on the side), and used only 1/2c. sour cream(low fat)......very tasty and a nice easy one pot meal. Will make again. Loved the caraway seed.....adds a lot of flavor....great with the kraut. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Loved it!! Creamy, filling, and delicious. I didn't have any sour cream so I substituted a bit of heavy cream and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaxson13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Didn't care for this... If you don't like sauerkraut you shouldn't make sauerkraut, instead of making it and then covering it up. My man loves sauerkraut and if he likes it, he'll go back for seconds... not this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandoo4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirkland, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marengo, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Veggie and Sausage Skillet Pizza

See how to make a delicious deep-dish style pizza in a skillet.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States