Polish Sausage Kraut Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This was absolutely PHENOMENAL! My grandmother was Polish and used to make dishes so similar to this ... she's been gone almost 20 years now, but as I was making this the smell took me back to her kitchen. My husband absolutely LOVED this! I'm a hit or miss cooker either it's great like this, or I make rubbery fish (don't ask). I made it almost as written. Instead of the bouillon and water, I just used beef broth instead. I also didn't have any caraway seeds, otherwise it was cooked as written. Otherwise though, I wouldn't change anything - SO good and definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I didn't have caraway seeds, so I didn't use them. And like others omitted the sour cream/ flour step (although he added sour cream to the finished product after I mentioned I left out that step). My boyfriend almost ate the WHOLE PAN!!! He left a small corner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This would have been tasty if I hadn't added the sour cream/flour which made it very mushy. Very unappetizing looking. I make a similiar dish but tried this for a change. I followed this recipe exactly. I do like the recipe up until the sour cream addition so I may try it again without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I made this without the addition of potatoes and carrots and served it with pierogies. It was excellent and the sour cream sauce was a great accompaniment to the pierogies! Nice way to perk up an ordinary week night meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I made this recipe to appease my husband, whose German mother made something similar. Even though I don't care for sauerkraut, I enjoyed this recipe too. The sour cream really tamed the taste of the kraut. I used chicken broth instead of beef bouillion + water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Very yummy! Didn't have beef bouillon or caraway seed and even after omitting those it was still delicious. I added some more spices for flavor and definitely replace water with chicken broth it makes it so much better! My husband loves it and my friends wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I had to use brats sausage because thats all I had but we thought this was delicious. I wondered about the sour cream but I really think it makes this recipe sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Great one skillet meal! Used ALL the ingredients with just a few minor "amount" changes. My family loves sausage so I doubled the amount. Used about twice the sugar because the can of kraut I used was very vinegar-y. Used half the amount of sour cream which still gave it a nice creamy texture. A winner at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I was a little unsure of this recipe, but wow! It turned out delicious! I will make this again and again! The only changes I made were: chicken for beef bouillon (didn't have any) and I used dried minced onion and packaged minced garlic instead of the fresh stuff...either way, it was a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
DELICIOUS!! We all loved it. I've had Kielbasa and Kraut for over 35 years and it's never been this good. The sour cream, potatoes and carrots are definitely the finishing touch for key flavors to gel. The only thing I left out was the Caraway Seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Veggie and Sausage Skillet Pizza

See how to make a delicious deep-dish style pizza in a skillet.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States