Polish Egg Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MJH
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Literally just took my loaves out of the oven. I am of Polish decent and lately have been wanting to try cook more Polish foods. The recipe was easy to follow but I wish it had warned that you would end up with LOTS of dough. I made the 4 large loaves but there was enough dough to make 6 smaller ones. Will be cutting the recipe in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This was great ! It toasted up nicely and froze well. This makes a HUGE amount of dough. I hade to bend my loaf just to fit it on the cookie sheet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
THIS RECIPE IS TO DIE FOR! I've baked this bread twice now and both times it's been a complete success. The friends and family I reluctantly shared it with all could not believe how incredibly rich and down right PERFECT a bread it really was. Here's a link to my blog post about it. I couldn't RESIST! Take a look :) http://breadbrained.wordpress.com/2014/07/24/polish-egg-bread-from-heaven-and-beyond/?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Excellent challah! Stays moist and delicious many days after baking. My Polish lady friends certainly enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belbaker

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Minsk, Minsk, Belarus
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
My Greatgrand mother made this bread and I have been making it for many years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I have been wanting to try this recipe for several years. Theother day someone gave us a dozen farm fresh eggs and I needed to use them. I gave it 4 stars because 1. the directions don't say when to add the sugar (I did in the first step when prepping the yeast) and 2. It is a LARGE recipe, and when I say large, I mean industrial sized. I halved the recipe and thought the dough was taking over. But it made a very nice and tasty bread. My advice would be to halve the recipe and to it in two stages as I did. I am giving away as Christmas gifts and I kept a loaf for myself...beautiful presentation (I braided the bread as suggested in the recipe) and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Photo by hellcatt
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
the only problem with this recipie for people like me who dont bake bread very often is when are you supposed to add the sugar?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
My husband lived in poland for a couple years and said they have the best bread he has ever tasted and even at polish restraunts here it cannot be duplicated. I thought I would give this a try anyhow because I love making fresh bread and it looked delish! I followed the recipe exactly (the dough is really monsterous in size) The results were wonderful. It makes 6 large braided loaves and luckily we had a lot of company that night and it all got eaten. My husband said it didn't taste like the polish bread he remembered but it was really good. It makes a lightly sweet bread. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This is a Very large recipe I normally split it in half. but it is great bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States