Polish Dill Pickle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Soup came our wonderful! I am not a huge fan of this soup, but had some dill pickles I canned last Summer that came out kinda so-so. This was the perfect recipe to make use of the not-so-great dill pickles I made! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I made this soup based on the ratings...for a 5-star recipe, I was very disappointed. The soup was exceptionally bland, and needed a lot of salt and pepper. It might be better if some beef broth or granules were added. For lack of a better word, it just tasted strange. I will definitely not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Even my ten year old LOVED this! Can't wait to share it with my book club (we read a Polish book) tomorrow night!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This was a GREAT recipe! I folllowed the recipe as written except used 1/2 water and 1/2 beef boullion, my wife loved it! To make it a little more interesting I added mini meatballs made as follows. 1 lb 8% fat ground beef 1 egg 1/4 cup bread crumbs 1/4 cup mustard 1 medium onion diced mixed ingredients and made mini meatballs which I cooked in a little beeft broth then drained and browned. I placed 5-7 meatballs in each bowl and we LOVED it. It really gave the flavor of a great hamburger with mustard and onion surrounded by the great dill pickle taste...we will definitely do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I add sour cream and milk to give a little different taste. You can use Vegeta soup starter for some extra flavor. Love this soup. My husband's family is Polish and they think it's authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Delicious! I made this with bought beef stock and at the end I omitted the milk, stirring in a little sour cream when serving instead. Highly recommended - I shall definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Am making this for New Year's Eve dinner tomorrow and we are having company :) I'm brave. I've used chopped cabbage and a diced carrot for vegetables. I increased the water by 2 cups and the pickles to 3 cups over all. I also used a cup of pickle juice. Once its cooled I'll stir in lite sour cream instead of flour and milk. Its summer here in New Zealand and its going to be warm tomorrow so I thought a cold soup would be a nice starter. I'm also making Polish lasagna, cabbage stew in my crockpot and Polish desserts. Should be good. It already tastes good hot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miriam Hughes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I made this for lunch today. It was quite interesting. My husband likes it. My taste though is geared more toward spicy, which made this taste bland to me. I did follow the recipe very closely and I'm sure it came out just as it was supposed to. I won't be making it again but I give it 4 stars for originality and ease of preparation. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOSTIN_OZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
more pickles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankenmuth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
LOVED THIS SOUP!!!!!!!!!!! Make it a again...it's not too pickly. I was nervous to try it because it sounds gross, but it's delicious.I threw in whatever I had laying around the house including celery, carrots, corn, green beans, mushrooms, onions. This soup is the best and my Polish family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States