Polish Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
This recipe is very close to my grandmother's, which I remember as a shortening-stained newspaper clipping. I substituted lard for the fats, as my grandmother did, and moistened the scraps with sour cream. Frosted and decorated, these are the epitome of Christmas for my family. Double or even triple the recipe - they make wonderful gifts, and everyone raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
These cookies are wonderful! Just like we had when we were kids. I made half of the recipe and it was plenty. We frosted them with cream cheese frosting and added sugar sprinkles. Glad to have refound this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I haved searched for many years for the perfect cut-out cookie-and this is it! The dough was very easy to work with,(I rolled it between two sheets of waxed paper), and the cookies were a wonderful texture. It reminded me of the Polish bakery cookies we would buy when I was a child. I added anise extract to the frosting, too....my family loved them. this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
These have a great flavor, and hold their shape well for decorating. Also, the dough is easy to roll and cut. My husband's family is polish, and I wanted to make them a polish christmas cookie for the holidays. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
Easy to make. Held together well while icing. Great taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cadillac_cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
they are called amoniaczki :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
I am not much for rolling and cutting out dough so we shaped the dough into a nice thick log, wrapped it in waxed paper and sliced the dough 1/4" thick, sprinkled candy cake decorations on top as you would a sugar cookie and baked them for 8-9 minutes. My guys loved them as they weren't too sweet and still had a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
This recipe tastes just like the cookies my grandmother made. We called them pierniki. I've tried several other recipes and they just weren't right. These have the same texture and flavor I remember. My grandmother used lard. I used half crisco and butter. I am thrilled to have found this truly polish cookie. They are delicious and are my favorite Christmas cookie! Thanks Darlene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States