Polish Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Awesome cookie. Great taste and texture. Crunchy not soft, just how I like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I don't have a Polish heritage or tradition of eating these cookies, but we will have one from now on. I took a sniff of the anise extract and almost said, "no way." I'm so glad I didn't! I didn't change anything, other than to reduce the anise extract to 1/2 to 1 tsp. instead of 1/2 oz. (1 tablespoon) called for. The anise flavor was still there, but much more subtle and absolutely delicious. The cookies rolled and cut perfectly. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Joseph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I halved the recipe and still ended up with over 4 dozen yummy cookies that reminded me of my childhood. Will definitely make them again. Thanks for the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
My parents came from Poland and this is the first time I have heard or tasted this cookie. The cookies turned out well and are easy to roll, I just found the anise taste a bit to overwhelming !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paradisebliss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I was looking for an alternative to the regular Christmas cookies I make every year and these were perfect. These can be decorated like a regular sugar cookie, but they have a special flavor. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Nothing special here. Just plain sugar cookies, really. And I'm not into all the decorating. I prefer "drop" cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made this recipe exactly as stated and didn't need to add anymore flour. Also, 1/2 ounce extract equals 3 teaspoons. I refrigerated the dough for one half hour. I made this recipe into 36 large round cookies about 1/4 inch thick. This recipe is fantastic and tastes yummy when topped with sugar cookie icing. Brings back memories of the old Polish bakeries of Buffalo when I was a kid. Thanks so much Diane for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Very good cookies... The recipe makes a LOT of cookies so we cut it in half and it was just fine. We sprinkled them with colored sugar before baking to give them a little "Christmas sparkle" and they baked up beautiful. I will add this to my yearly holiday cookie baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saranac, New York, USA
Living In: Harker Heights, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This is the best cookie for Xmas this has become my #1 coookie.Texture is just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
These cookies have a nice anise flavor to them, and freeze very well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States