Polish Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
i liked this recipe i think that it could be thicker i used 2 10oz can of cream of chicken . my husband is a southern and he is used to it bigger, otherwise i think that it s a great recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ynez, California, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
We invited my 98 year-old Polish/Hungarian great-grandmother for dinner to taste the dish on a cold, wintry New England night. She found the dish reminscient of the old country though she demanded we add a significant pinch of hot Csipos paprika to the broth. It made all the difference. Also, she refused to allow to add the can of cream of chicken. All said, the dish was an utmost success. She wept over memories of the old country as she ate the dumplings one by one. Thank you for this marvelous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clare Quilty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
My husband hates stew/soup, but he loves this recipe. I have made it twice already and I will make it again! I make the chicken different, but I do make dumplings as directed. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This is a really good recipe. I added peas and omitted about 1/2 the pepper... I also used turkey and turkey broth instead of chicken and water. This will feed my husband and I for DAYS! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I was looking for a dumpling recipe like my German grandmother made when I was a kid 45 years ago and this came very close. I added some poultry seasoning and parsley flakes (fresh would have been better) and a half tablespoon of baking powder which lightened them up. Pretty good! I didn't try the soup, but I will next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Excellent! My family is a blend of german and polish...I had a craving for a dense dumpling like those that my family used to make. These hit the spot. The only thing I changed was using 6 boneless skinless frozen chicken breasts instead of the whole chicken - - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
with some tweaking that my sister made this was an absolutely phenomenal dish. I absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by La Carlotta
Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Freaking GOOD. The dumpling recipe is off the hook!! It says 1T salt and go for it, they are incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Durham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Try this method. Reserve 2 Cups of broth for dumplings instead of water. Then roll out dough of floured board and cut strips 1" x 2" X 1/4 " and then dropping into simmering broth with the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Feeds an army and it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States