Polish Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I customized this recipe to use up some Thanksgiving leftovers. First, I made a stock with the leftover turkey, let it cool and skimmed off the fat. Then I added chopped carrots, onions, celery and used the same spices listed. Instead of using cream of chicken soup I heated up some leftover gravy with a little heavy cream and threw that in the pot. I made the dumplings as directed and found them a little too salty, but I hardly noticed when they were in the soup. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I have been eating chicken & dumplings for years, I LOVE the actual dumpling recipe. I have been making dumplings with bisquick, but I like this better, VERY flavorful! Gets better the next day when heated up too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
These dumplings are just like my babcia made! I am so happy to have the recipe and share with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This was awesome!! I reserved 2 cups of chicken stock for the dumplings and added frozen egg noddles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael357

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
The broth in this soup was out-of-this-world. I made sure to copy down that part of the recipe in my physical cookbook so it would not get lost. The dumplings were another matter. My family and I love the heavy-style dumplings more than the fluffy bisquit-type, but these did not have a nice flavor. It was like eating flour balls. I used the 1T of salt, but there just was not much flavor. I dropped the dumpling dough into the broth in 1/2 t. amounts, so I would recommend doing even smaller amounts, perhaps 1/4 t. I saw where one reviewer recommended using chicken broth instead of water; that might do the trick right there. Try that when you make the dumplings. Again, the broth was amazing! That alone rated the four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Thank you for an authentic chicken & dumpling recipe instead of one using canned biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Ridiculously good. Polish husband raved. Omitted the "cream-of" soup both times I've made it. First time I followed suggestion to add sour cream instead, next time thickened with corn starch. Both worked well and were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I have a different way of making dumplings, but I thought I would try this recipe. I'm not sure what happened, because I followed it to a T, but my mixture was soupy and the dumplings tasted a little floury. I would need to make a few adjustments before trying this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This is now my family's new favorite recipe. I've never seen a dish disappear so fast from the table before. I made the full recipe and my family of 3 ate nearly all of it - there went my plan for leftovers! I do recommend halfing the dumpling recipe as I had enough dough leftover to add to the chicken noodle soup made the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Really yummy. My husband prefers dense dumplings but I usually make the fluffy kind so I made this for him and he loved it. I added carrots to the broth which I will do again in the future. Next time I will probably increase the seasonings as well. For the dumplings: a tbs of salt sounded like to much to me but I was wrong because I only used about 1/2 tbs and they were a little bland. I will definitely use the full amount next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States