Polish Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I am rating the dumplings here, as i make my own version of chicken soup, but the dumplings are AMAZING!!! One important note - the amount of dumplings to soup is way off. next time i will make 1/4 of the amount, it's simply way off in calculation. make sure you make tiny little dumplings, they are very hearty and dense, but i liked it that way.I also used butter instead of oil, and chicken stock instead of water, that might have improved the overall result. I will use this in my chicken soups now instead of any pasta / grain. My husband and father thought it was AMAZING, me too. Thank you so much for the recipe. will be making this again THIS same week, that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earth_girl
Home Town: Palmyra, New York, USA
Living In: Greece, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
These dumplings are great - just the way I like them (dense and heavy). My husband prefers these over noodles now in my chicken (formerly noodle - now dumpling) soup. He loves them. My only change was to add a little bit of paprika to the flour. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This was really good. I followed the directions to a tee and it was delish! It took a while to make, but was definitely worth the wait. I made the dumplings about nickle sized and that worked out really well. There was a LOT of dumplings, though. If you don't like as many dumplings then I suggest halfing the recipe. I also added ramen noodles :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Just rating the dumplings. They are very easy and you do not need to be too precise. I use the broth from the chicken instead of water, and I skin the fat off the top of the broth and use that instead of olive oil. I scale the recipe down for two people and it makes enough for my husband and I to have dinner and lunch the next day. To make the base I just use onion, garlic, chicken, bay leaf, salt, and pepper. I do not use cream of anything soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South New Berlin, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This was amazing!! I omitted the allspice, basil, season salt and cream of chicken soup though. I did use everything else and added a couple cubes of Knorr bouillon to the chicken while cooking. For the dumplings (per another reviewer) I used 2 cups reserved broth instead of the water but otherwise I followed exactly the flour and seasoning. Omg it is so delicious! The dumplings are tender and a little chewy (perfection), the chicken and soup was very flavorful and it thickened up nicely. My family LOVED this dish! My husband who normally doesn't eat alot of chicken (and hates dumplings) had several bowls lol and my three teenagers had multiply servings as well. Who can ask for more? :D This is definitely something I will make again and again. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissNikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Even after I added extra seasoning to each level, this soup was very bland. The dumplings were too heavy and flourie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
My mother made "Big Kluski" the way only Moms can. We (Children) have never been able to replicate her recipe. But this is as close as it gets! It takes some time to make, but believe me it is well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
the absolute best!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Delicious dumplings! So much easier than rolling out dough. I didn't follow the recipe for the soup, but instead used 6 TBSP each of butter and flour to make a roux, then added water, chicken boullion powder, pepper, and a little onion powder. I cooked carrots, potatoes, and dumplings in this thick gravy-like broth, then added cooked, cubed chicken breasts. Total comfort food. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
5 stars for dumplings only...I have't tried the base recipe. These make heavy dumplings! Use dumpling portion of recipe for a heavier style dumpling for chicken soup. I would suggest these substitutions (as also noted by other reviewers? Substitute: Chicken Fat (from making homemade .................stock for Olive Oil Chicken Stock or Broth for Water My family loved these...I have been looking for a harder dumpling for my chicken stock. I gave this recipe 5 starts solely for the dumpling portion..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States