Polish Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This was really good, especially the next day when heated back up. The dumplings were a bit messy but worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I need help on the dumplings. They were runny when I put them in the pot and it did not come out well. Maybe I should have added more flour??? The stew tasted great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Holmes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
It is a brilliant recipe. Now, I know it's kind of common sense, but needs to mention that you need to stir WHILE putting in the dumplings. When I made it, they all stuck to the bottom of the pot and became a mush. I was able to save it and give them shape. Just thought it needed to be mentioned. :] Still an awesome recipe. Will be using this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Like many other users, I referenced the recipe primarily for the dumplings, and I have to say I was pleased. I did other things with my recipe that made the dumplings cook longer, but even after that (and sitting on the stove waiting for my husband) they never got water-logged or fell apart like most more "biscuit"-type dumplings. They were delightful in a recipe like this, and I look forward to trying them in other soups and stews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin J. Sky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
My family hated this recipe. As a matter of fact, they would not even eat because it was all they had...this does not happen often. I was so disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I am only rating the dumplings as I was looking for a recipe similar to my Ukrainian grandmothers. I had already made a soup base from scratch but the dumplings were amazing! Had tried other versions (more like biscuits) and it was not what I was looking for. My kids each ate two bowls of the soup as they LOVED the dumplings. Will definalty make again and will try the soup next time I do a roast chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I really like how the dumplings turn out. I never get to make the broth the same way twice though because my family uses this as a one of those "in a pinch" recipes when we really really need to go shopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I am rating the dumplings here, as i make my own version of chicken soup, but the dumplings are AMAZING!!! One important note - the amount of dumplings to soup is way off. next time i will make 1/4 of the amount, it's simply way off in calculation. make sure you make tiny little dumplings, they are very hearty and dense, but i liked it that way.I also used butter instead of oil, and chicken stock instead of water, that might have improved the overall result. I will use this in my chicken soups now instead of any pasta / grain. My husband and father thought it was AMAZING, me too. Thank you so much for the recipe. will be making this again THIS same week, that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earth_girl
Home Town: Palmyra, New York, USA
Living In: Greece, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
These dumplings are great - just the way I like them (dense and heavy). My husband prefers these over noodles now in my chicken (formerly noodle - now dumpling) soup. He loves them. My only change was to add a little bit of paprika to the flour. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This was really good. I followed the directions to a tee and it was delish! It took a while to make, but was definitely worth the wait. I made the dumplings about nickle sized and that worked out really well. There was a LOT of dumplings, though. If you don't like as many dumplings then I suggest halfing the recipe. I also added ramen noodles :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States