Polish Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Wonderful! So glad I came across this recipe. I was looking for a more dense dumpling and this is it. I don't have a lot of time to cook with my schedual so I changed a few things. I brought 4 cans of Swansons chicken broth to a boil and added the can of cream of chicken and 1/2 can of cream of celery along with the suggested seasonings (I omitted the allspice). I then added 4 (small) chicken breast and removed after they were cooked through (about 25 min). I prepared the dumplings as suggested but found that they were to sticky to cut off of a spoon so I ended up using 2 small spoons, one to scoop about the amount of a tablespoon and pushed it off into the boiling broth using the other spoon. I boiled them for the 15 min. then returned the chicken to the pot (diced of course). Yeah, lots of detail, but it's what worked for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I have been looking for a dumpling recipe to compliment my chicken stew and have finally found it!! Excellent flavor, excellent texture. I loved this recipe and so did my husband. He told me to stick to this one. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
The dumplings were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
The dumplings were a disaster! I followed the recipe. I thought the mix would be stiff, almost like cookie dough, but it was goopy so I kept adding more flour. Then I put them in the broth and even after being in there 10-15 minutes they came out as raw dough goo blobs. Not good. The chicken seasoning was good, though. That's why I gave it 2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Good recipe. My children loved this....my son had thirds, and my daughter had seconds. My boyfriend had four bowlfuls! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith LaBarbera

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
As I saw in previous reviews, these are the heavier of the two types of dumplings, but this is the best recipe I have found after losing the one my mother gave me. If you want lighter, experiment a little. If you understand baking, apply it to this recipe and you can make a fluffy light dumpling. You want more or different flavoring, hit the spice rack. When my friends and family ask how I make them so food, I just say allrecipes.com, I just don't tell them which recipe it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
The stock is very good, I did make some changes. I used legs as they were on sale, 1 can on cream of mushroom soup, 1 can of chicken broth ( reduced fat) 2 TBSP of roasted Garlic and rolled dumplings.. turned out fantastic! YUM.. My hubby who doesn't like chicken LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
I normally stay away from any recipe that calls for a "cream of something" soup (yuck!) - But I braved this one and after a couple of slight changes it was exactly what I was looking for. I added some fresh garlic to the chicken as it was cooking and I thickened the broth with a small amount of cornstarch. The dumplings came out perfect! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Good recipe, but my wife is right off the boat from Poland. They don't use olive oil or regular flour in their dumplings.. they use potato flour..these are supposed to be heavy potato flour dumplings. This recipe has been americanized but still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This recipe was not quite what I was hoping for. I was really looking for a more creamy version; perhaps my fault - I should have analyzed the ingredients more. The end result was tasty, but not fabulous. I probably would not make this again considered the amount of effort it takes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States