Polish Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Hits the spot! I used 2.5 lbs of chicken thighs instead of a whole chicken and added carrots, peas and celery. Didn't need the cream of chicken, just thickened the broth with a little cornstarch. Great comfort meal! The dumplings are delish...I just think I need a lesson in technique for "cutting" them off the spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Very, very good. I used whole chicken pieces and made my own poultry seasoning looking it up on the web. I also rolled my own dumplings by adding flour to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cherries
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Great Recipe! The ONLY thing I added was 1 small potato diced real small. Everyone really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherries

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I made this for dinner last night. My husband loved it! I could not keep out of the dumplings. I did not use the canned soup, it did not need it. I also used 4 bone in chicken breasts instead of one whole chicken. The next time I'll just use a couple spoons to drop the dumplings in the pot. This is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
We will make this again. We used 1/4 t. ground allspice as we didn't have any of the whole ones on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
For the broth, I used this recipe with a few changes to suit our personal taste (I wanted a whole big pot of soup, so I had to change some things). That being said, the dumplings were AMAZING!! My fiance did NOT want me to make this, because he never liked his family's recipe for chicken & dumplings. But when he tried these, he changed his mind. I love how heavy & filling they are, that's the best kind of dumplings. They're savory, flavorful, and perfect. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foursixquebec

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I grew up in a German household, and this brought back great memories! For some reason, I'd never gotten the recipe for chicken and dumplings from my mom. Because grandma's almost always know best, I did as the one reviewer's great grandmother insisted, and left out the Campbell's cream of chicken soup. I'm glad I did. It was absolutely wonderful without it. Thanks so much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This was quick and easy and it was DELICIOUS!! Thanks for sharing it ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This reminded me of my great grandmothers! Was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Absolutely wonderful! This is easy, inexpensive, and delicious. I didn't strain the broth because I wanted the all the celery and onion to stay in. I thought that most of the allspice was floating on top so picked them out instead. We ended up finding a good number in later, but I don't know that I would do anything different the next time. Even so, my husband, my four-year-old son, and I all really enjoyed our warm Halloween dinner. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States