Polish Cabbage Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
DELICIOUS!!! Very plesently surprised. I added butter to the noodles (although I used less in the cabbage)and chicken buillion, thyme, dijon mustard, and caraway seeds to the cabbage (I think these added loads of great flavor and not sure it would have been as delicious without). I didn't shred the cabbage, I prefer it chopped. I left out the onion. My picky kids loved it:) I will definately make this dish again. Nice inexpensive meal, Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
So simple, but so good!! I halved the butter and used 1/2 can beef broth, since I prefer that flavor and texture. I also added crumbled bacon to the mix. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I like this without onion. I saute the cabbage in Earth Balance Margarine and sprinkle a little bit of caraway seeds on it. Love the flavor! It tastes good with Tofurkey meatless Kielbasa:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Good meal. Made as is except I used yellow onions instead of red. Served with kielbasa sausage. Looking forward to the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luis Bueno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
very good and just like I've had from PA Dutch /Central PA kitchens. My grandmother used to make something similar, but she would use a small can of sauerkraut rather than the cabbage - cook it when you are cooking the onions. She also added lots of salt and pepper and a little paprika, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Great recipe but a little bland. I used sour cream instead of the butter and added minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I got fresh Kielbasa from my from my friend and was dying to make Polish Cabbage and Noodles. I must say, if you never had this, it's pretty bland. I am a FLAVOR monster, so I added fresh garlic, adobo, and lots of pepper to the cabbage and onion mixture. (I parboiled the cabbage first in chicken broth too and then sauted.) Also when I served this, topped it off with Parmesan Cheese and it turned out very tasty....JUST MY STYLE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julnlisha is a cook!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roselle, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Springfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
My mother always added a container of creamy cottage cheese to this cabbage and noodle recipe. Great recipe with the cottage cheese and butter instead of oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I followed the recommendations of some other raters and salted my shredded cabbage in water for 15 minutes prior to sauteing and omitted the onion. The dish came out fantastic. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathyr32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This is typically called Haluski, the cabbage needs to cook down alot. I usually always use yellow onions. You can also use bacon bits, and fry the onions in the leftover bacon fat. Put the warmed cabbage leftovers in homemade mashed potatoes, without the pasta, this is known as Irish Colcannon and is to DIE for. The Haluski is sold at every farmers market,little league game and street fair in PA. They typically use bow ties with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver Ghost

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linden, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States