Polish Cabbage Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
This was good, but didn't taste like my mother's! I called her and asked her what she did with hers. She chops up the cabbage, salts it, lets it sit for about 10-15 minutes, then rings the water out of it and sautees it in butter or margarine. And she DOESN'T use onions! I think the onions ruined it for me. It still tasted pretty good, but not as yummy as my mom's! Next time...no onions. 9/23/10 I made this recipe again using my mother's tips (see above) and OH.MY.WORD.!!!! It was PERFECT! Definitely (in my opinion) NO ONIONS! The cabbage gets a sweet taste when you cook it and, combined with the salt and butter, it's mouth-watering. Brings me back to my childhood! :) With no onions and salting the cabbage before you cook it, I give it FIVE STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S Griffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
One of my favorite recipes!! Yummy! I do not use onion and when I have it on hand I use chicken broth so I can use less better. That's usually only when I'm counting calories. I like it with bacon mixed it but usually don't make it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Wow! Awesome recipe! I finally found a great recipe that my husband wants put into our monthly rotation. I did add 8oz of bacon sliced in 1 inch peices to the cabbage and onion process. I also used olive oil and a touch of minced garlic. I served polish kielbasa on the side. Awesome! 10 stars from this family. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Alden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Yum!!! I never knew cabbage could taste so good, the red onion really adds to it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I make this often. My teenagers love it. The last time I used pre packaged cole slaw mix instead of cabbage. It sautes up extra fast. Its ready by the time the water boils for the noodles!! The carrots in it add a sweet touch thats really good. I used thin egg noodles to keep the textures similar. Great quick after work meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
My grandmother used to make this all of the time, but with cut up bacon fried with the cabbage and onions. That makes it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
This was ok, not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
This one has been in my family for years and years - Instead of butter I use a few tablespoons of olive oil, sautee lots of crushed garlic and sweet onions in the oil before adding the cabbage. Pepper is a must. Never thought of adding soy, I think I'll give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
I've been making this for a long time and it's a family favorite. I use regular onions though. Still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
I like this recipe very much. It's easy to make and cut in half, since I cook for just one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States