Polish Cabbage Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Just a little note on this great meal: My family traditionally uses the dough from pierogi cut outs to make what we call "haluski." After cutting out the circles to make the pierogi, slice the left over dough in strips, then follow this recipe. (The pieces do not need to be the same, and you do not need to roll out the left over dough. Just slice what's around the circles.) This is a very efficient way to create two meals at once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This is a great recipe. It makes a lot. Much more than 5 servings. It would easily feed 10 people. I think next time I will use Vidalia or sweet onions. The color of the red onions gave the dish a strange appearance. I served this with the Guiness Corned Beef recipe and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Pretty goods. Very simple dish that is very filling. Did not use as much butter as called for and only one onion. I also added about a tablespoon of brown sugar. Nice change for a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna K. Crossley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Perhaps this is more of a sentimental dish...? No one in my family was crazy about it and the leftovers lingered for days. Sorry, will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
This is one of my favorite dishes. I'm third generation Polish American. We've always referred to this dish as Halushki. One of the pierogi fillings that I grew up with consisted of sauted shredded cabbage, sauted onion, and dry cottage cheese. When I'm in the mood for pierogi and don't want to go through all of the labor, I'll make this dish (adding the cottage cheese) with a dollop of sour cream. Great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Very good side dish. I served it with grilled pork chops and a sauerkraut rye bread recipe from this website. The only thing I changed was 1 large white onion, 1 teaspoon of ham seasoning and 2 small cans of chopped mushrooms to dress it up a bit. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I give it a 5 after using other reviewers suggestions - it was incredibly boring without their help. I did cut the recipe in l/2 - I was serving this as a side dish and it served 6 people even after halving it. I immediately followed reviewers comments by cooking 6 slices of bacon first (crumbled it and put aside). I wasn't sure if I should use the bacon grease to cook the cabbage and onions - decided against it (poured it out)and stuck with the butter. I had to add a little water to it to scrape up the bacon bits and you may need to add some more butter if it gets dry near the end of cooking. Now I tasted it before adding the noodles (which I cut back to 5 oz.) - and found it tasteless! All that trouble and no taste. First I added some celery salt (about a tsp.) and more pepper and it wasn't much better. Then I remembered someone suggested sugar. I tried a tablespoon and what a difference!!!! Adjust the sugar to your taste. I added in the noodles and the bacon and I could not believe the hit it turned out to be. I still have the other half of the cabbage so I am going to make it again tomorrow. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
YUM YUM YUM! This is GREAT! I cooked up polish sausage with onions, then added cabbage. I cooked the FROZEN noodles in another pan, drained and mixed all together. Added pepper..This was a great hit at our house. It has so much flavor. If you try, you will love. Great COMFORT food! YUM YUM YUM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This is a great recipe! I use purple cabbage almost exclusively with this but green is great too! I addded bacon bits and bacon drippings to the pan - and white onions very thinly sliced instead of purple onions. Gramma always used the really big wide tender dutch egg noodles too. For a real treat - make the noodles from scratch! This dish is a meal in itself with a bit of bread and butter or with sausages on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Living Well

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I made this tonight and it was to easy to be that good. The only change I made was that I used one whole mayan sweet onion in place of the red onions. This had a nice mild taste which made a great side dish to fresh polish sausage. If you are looking for something with a strong flavor this may not be for you. I will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States