Polish Cabbage Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
A great dish!,For extra flavor, i fry up a few slices of bacon, and cook the cabbage and onions in the grease. Be sure not to overcook the bacon though, or you get a bitter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Really yummy! A nice mild side dish. I reduced the butter and used chicken stock to steam the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I just love this. For the simplicity and frugality of this dish, it was a real winner. I wondered what sauteed cabbage would taste like, and I was pleased! I much prefer using only a small amount of butter (original recipe tasted too rich for me) and a bit of chicken base ("bouillon" paste from Sam's). To get the cabbage just the right tenderness, I sauteed until the cabbage mixture was reduced by half, then turned off the heat and put the cover on to steam to my liking (not mushy, just a bit of firmness). With wide whole grain noodles, some sausage, plus a bit of sour cream for garnish, it was a great family meal. To serve 8, I may use 2-3 bags of coleslaw mix (colorful!) or a large cabbage. One white onion is sufficent and blends in to avoid detection :) Browning the mixture adds to the taste as well. *TIP: Try adding a few teaspoons of white vinegar or dill pickle brine, or 1 pkg. sauerkraut to mixture ...YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I added some sour cream just before serving and it's like a mock piergori. We have also made this with sliced keilbasa in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Avon Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
My wife, who doesn't like cabbage, loves this recipe. I needed to add an extra 1/2 cup of butter to keep it from drying out too quickly, but otherwise it is a great tasting side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This recipe is perfect and made the traditional way just as it is supposed to be. My Grandma used to make this when I was little and after taking one bite I was swept back to my childhood sitting at her dining room table in Hamtramck, Michigan i.e Polish town. Just so you know alot of people suggest adding bacon to this but that is not a staple in a traditional Polish kitchen. Bacon added to everything is more of a Southern twist to foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
i love this recipe, but i omit the onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Very tasty just the way it is without all that fussing around with more or different ingredients. An easy meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Madison, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This meal was simply delicious. I will make a few changes next time, like using rye or pumpernickel bread crumbs and will definitely cook the noodles first. But we still loved it and it was wonderful as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandbeez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This is so simple but very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States