Polish Cabbage Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Overall, this recipe was alright though not exciting. I used a red onion and half a white onion. I also added a pound of smoked turkey sausage. Without the sausage, I would have given the recipe a lower rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I learned how to make this dish while living in a very Polish down-state Illinois town. I always use home made noodles (or frozen) and serve it with ham or corned beef. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This is a good recipe. Sometimes when I cook this, I fry some smoked sausage and add to the noodle mixture. My husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
A great dish!,For extra flavor, i fry up a few slices of bacon, and cook the cabbage and onions in the grease. Be sure not to overcook the bacon though, or you get a bitter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Really yummy! A nice mild side dish. I reduced the butter and used chicken stock to steam the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I just love this. For the simplicity and frugality of this dish, it was a real winner. I wondered what sauteed cabbage would taste like, and I was pleased! I much prefer using only a small amount of butter (original recipe tasted too rich for me) and a bit of chicken base ("bouillon" paste from Sam's). To get the cabbage just the right tenderness, I sauteed until the cabbage mixture was reduced by half, then turned off the heat and put the cover on to steam to my liking (not mushy, just a bit of firmness). With wide whole grain noodles, some sausage, plus a bit of sour cream for garnish, it was a great family meal. To serve 8, I may use 2-3 bags of coleslaw mix (colorful!) or a large cabbage. One white onion is sufficent and blends in to avoid detection :) Browning the mixture adds to the taste as well. *TIP: Try adding a few teaspoons of white vinegar or dill pickle brine, or 1 pkg. sauerkraut to mixture ...YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I added some sour cream just before serving and it's like a mock piergori. We have also made this with sliced keilbasa in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Avon Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
My wife, who doesn't like cabbage, loves this recipe. I needed to add an extra 1/2 cup of butter to keep it from drying out too quickly, but otherwise it is a great tasting side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This recipe is perfect and made the traditional way just as it is supposed to be. My Grandma used to make this when I was little and after taking one bite I was swept back to my childhood sitting at her dining room table in Hamtramck, Michigan i.e Polish town. Just so you know alot of people suggest adding bacon to this but that is not a staple in a traditional Polish kitchen. Bacon added to everything is more of a Southern twist to foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
i love this recipe, but i omit the onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States