Polish Cabbage Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
I also have been making this recipe for years. The only other thing I do is after I saute the cabbage I add chicken broth to the cabbage to steam. This way you can cut the butter down and give the cabbage more flavor. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
301 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
This was good, but didn't taste like my mother's! I called her and asked her what she did with hers. She chops up the cabbage, salts it, lets it sit for about 10-15 minutes, then rings the water out of it and sautees it in butter or margarine. And she DOESN'T use onions! I think the onions ruined it for me. It still tasted pretty good, but not as yummy as my mom's! Next time...no onions. 9/23/10 I made this recipe again using my mother's tips (see above) and OH.MY.WORD.!!!! It was PERFECT! Definitely (in my opinion) NO ONIONS! The cabbage gets a sweet taste when you cook it and, combined with the salt and butter, it's mouth-watering. Brings me back to my childhood! :) With no onions and salting the cabbage before you cook it, I give it FIVE STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S Griffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
I too have been making this dish for years -coming from the German/PA Dutch area of Pennsylvania, this is quite a hit. I began serving this up at our Little League games, where I run the concession stand and it just flies out of there. I too, like to saute' the cooked cabbage and noodles together for a bit to mingle the flavors, and I never use onion - I like the cabbage flavor way too much. To finish it off, I sprinkle it with a liberal dose of paprika and mix it all up while I finish sauteing. Its often requested when I have to bring a covered dish. I'm getting hungry for it, just thinking about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pen Argyl, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
I made this recipe last night and everyone loved it. I made a few additions in order to serve it as a main dish, for our meat loving family. I used penne pasta instead of the wide noodles ( it was all I had on hand) I think it was a great choice due to the texture and shape. First I sauted polish sausage in a little bit of olive oil, then I removed them from the pan. I used a large white onion in place of the red added that to the pan and sauted until slightly tender, then added cabbage until tender, added the smoked sausage and the drained pasta. Oh and the most important part...2 Tbsp of white sugar! My husband usually hates when I cook smoked sausage....he LOVED this recipe. My 10 year old even loved it. I will make this again! Thank you so much for sharing this simply, fast recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This recipe is perfect and made the traditional way just as it is supposed to be. My Grandma used to make this when I was little and after taking one bite I was swept back to my childhood sitting at her dining room table in Hamtramck, Michigan i.e Polish town. Just so you know alot of people suggest adding bacon to this but that is not a staple in a traditional Polish kitchen. Bacon added to everything is more of a Southern twist to foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I make this often. My teenagers love it. The last time I used pre packaged cole slaw mix instead of cabbage. It sautes up extra fast. Its ready by the time the water boils for the noodles!! The carrots in it add a sweet touch thats really good. I used thin egg noodles to keep the textures similar. Great quick after work meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
So fast, easy and delicious. After you drain the noodles, saute them with the cabbage for extra flavor. FABULOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
Excellent recipe. I was surprised to find out the cabbage had a really mild flavor after sauteeing it slowly at low heat. I used leftover noodles and just added a little white wine to the cabbage and onions so that there was enough liquid to soften up the noodles. I also threw in about a Tablespoon of caraway seeds, and a Tablespoon of sugar (you can't really tell there's sugar in it, but my mom says that cabbage gets a really mellow flavor if you add a touch of sweetness to it). Also, I found out this is one of those recipes where it's even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
My family has made this recipe for years. It is great! I cube the cabbage instead of shredding it. Also use bow noodles for different look. Anyone who likes cabbage will love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
So good & so easy! I wasn't sure this would be good with such simple ingredients, but it was fantastic! I added some sliced Polish sausage just before serving. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States