Polish Cabbage Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Good meal. Made as is except I used yellow onions instead of red. Served with kielbasa sausage. Looking forward to the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
very good and just like I've had from PA Dutch /Central PA kitchens. My grandmother used to make something similar, but she would use a small can of sauerkraut rather than the cabbage - cook it when you are cooking the onions. She also added lots of salt and pepper and a little paprika, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Great recipe but a little bland. I used sour cream instead of the butter and added minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I got fresh Kielbasa from my from my friend and was dying to make Polish Cabbage and Noodles. I must say, if you never had this, it's pretty bland. I am a FLAVOR monster, so I added fresh garlic, adobo, and lots of pepper to the cabbage and onion mixture. (I parboiled the cabbage first in chicken broth too and then sauted.) Also when I served this, topped it off with Parmesan Cheese and it turned out very tasty....JUST MY STYLE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julnlisha is a cook!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roselle, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Springfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
My mother always added a container of creamy cottage cheese to this cabbage and noodle recipe. Great recipe with the cottage cheese and butter instead of oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I followed the recommendations of some other raters and salted my shredded cabbage in water for 15 minutes prior to sauteing and omitted the onion. The dish came out fantastic. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathyr32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This is typically called Haluski, the cabbage needs to cook down alot. I usually always use yellow onions. You can also use bacon bits, and fry the onions in the leftover bacon fat. Put the warmed cabbage leftovers in homemade mashed potatoes, without the pasta, this is known as Irish Colcannon and is to DIE for. The Haluski is sold at every farmers market,little league game and street fair in PA. They typically use bow ties with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver Ghost

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linden, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This is outstanding. I always thought that there must be something tricky about this dish, but it really is so simple. I followed other reviewers' suggestions and it turned out perfectly: 1. Chop and salt the cabbage- let sit 10-15 min 2. Skip the onion 3. Saute cabbage in butter in a large deep sided skillet. 4.Add the cooked noodles to the cooked cabbage and let simmer on low to let the flavors mingle (because I salted the cabbage I had plenty of liquid for this step- I didn't have to add any liquid). 5. Season with pepper, but NOT salt (if the cabbage is salted, it will already be plenty salty)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This dish was very bland and the red onion seemed out of place. I added some sliced vegetarian sausage to it to kick it up a bit. Bf said it was better cold the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Really good! I have had cabbage noodles with oil in the past and this was much lighter tasting. I did 1/2 margarine and 1/2 butter to cut some of the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States