Polish Cabbage Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
At first taste I was only going to give these noodles three stars, but after sitting in the fridge for a day the flavors really melded together and now they are addicting. I used less butter than called for, a yellow onion which I caramlized well, and added 1/4 cube of vegetale bouillon and 2 Tbsp. sour cream for some added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Have beenn making for years. My mother got this recipe from an enlish lady that was our neighbor when I was much younger. They called it Bubble and Squeak. My whole family loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I have not been a fan of cooked cabbage of any kind. I however married a man who loves it. I have made it for him and usually do not even try it...this one (with tips from another reviewer) was one that smelled good the entire time I was cooking it. I did use the onions as the reviewer said they preferred without, though my husband would have shot me! So I sauted the onions in the butter and about 1 Tbs of sugar to start them off. Then I added the cabbage and cooked until tender. The whole meal had a hint of sweetness that caused my 4 and 2 year olds to eat it up as well. I served this with corned beef on St. Patricks Day (as stated not a fan of the old fashioned cooked in one pot) and I didn't have much for left overs the next day. The small bowl I had hubby ate before he went to bed LOL. Great recipe and thanks for the sugar tip! I will be eating cooked cabbage from now on as long as I cook it this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This is the kind of food that just about every man loves. I did add some garlic powder and a sprinkling of caraway seeds. Served it with kielbasa and everyone was happy. Thank you Elizabeth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This was absolutely delicious as written. It is a dish that isn't meant to have a lot of spice. My polish grandmother uses yellow onions in hers but I love either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saunch09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This is pretty good, but I would not make it as a main course again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This did not work for me at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This is a favorite dish of mine. I use white or yellow onions, and I use Olive Oil in place of butter and use "I can't believe it's not butter" spray to bring in the buttery flavor. Tastes just as fantastic, and is easier on the calories and the heart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
DELICIOUS!!! Very plesently surprised. I added butter to the noodles (although I used less in the cabbage)and chicken buillion, thyme, dijon mustard, and caraway seeds to the cabbage (I think these added loads of great flavor and not sure it would have been as delicious without). I didn't shred the cabbage, I prefer it chopped. I left out the onion. My picky kids loved it:) I will definately make this dish again. Nice inexpensive meal, Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
So simple, but so good!! I halved the butter and used 1/2 can beef broth, since I prefer that flavor and texture. I also added crumbled bacon to the mix. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States