Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I cook polenta in a crock pot. I use 3-1/2 cups of cold water or stock mixed with 1 cup of corn meal and cook it in a small crock pot on low for 4 hours or more. When fully cooked and the water is absorbed I mix in 2 tablespoons of butter and any other cooked ingredients (like cooked corn or sauteed mushrooms or cheese)and pour into a 7x11 brownie pan and refrigerate until firm (at least a couple of hours or overnite). When ready to serve I cut the firm polenta into squares or triangles or circles and pan fry in a small amount of butter or olive oil for 3-5 minutes on each side until brown and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fancy Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
way too much water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimD

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
this cooks up way faster than the recipe says. But I love this for the ratio of water to cornmeal since I never remember that! This recipe is spot on. :) A bit of salt and pepper and this is a really awesome staple. Very economical too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Great basic recipe. Grew up with parents who lived through the depression. Everything was used, even empty cans. Remove both ends and press your polenta into it while still soft. Chill and then push it out and you have wonderful, round polenta that looks great. Use some Press and Seal wrap on one end. We enjoy polenta fried with butter and maple syrup in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
In Indiana we call this mush. You can slice it and fry it. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
If you want to make "Authentic" polenta you must use polenta corn meal.. not just regular corn meal... its a courser grind than standard corn meal. It may be hard to find in your area .. best bet to find real polenta is a Italian market, Whole Foods or if you are fortunate in the ethnic section in a grocery store. the 3 to 1 ratio is good tho you need to add plenty of salt to the water since the polenta will soak it up fast. Stir constantly until almost done to avoid lumps. Once your polenta is almost al denta stir 2 tbls. butter to it and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese Angelone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
In Jamaica we boil down coconut juice with garlic,green onion,tomatoes.let the liquid boil for a few minutes (with a scotch bonnet pepper ),take the pepper out before adding the corneal,and just let it thickens, covering the pot for about ten minutes making sure the corneal is properly cooked. BTW in Jamaica we call it "tun cornmeal" (turn corneal)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Thank you to the person who explained what polenta was....I would have been one of the people wandering in the store looking for that product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I used part beef broth, and it turned out just great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Wacker Strange

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
great with maple syrup or butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States