Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
this cooks up way faster than the recipe says. But I love this for the ratio of water to cornmeal since I never remember that! This recipe is spot on. :) A bit of salt and pepper and this is a really awesome staple. Very economical too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Great basic recipe. Grew up with parents who lived through the depression. Everything was used, even empty cans. Remove both ends and press your polenta into it while still soft. Chill and then push it out and you have wonderful, round polenta that looks great. Use some Press and Seal wrap on one end. We enjoy polenta fried with butter and maple syrup in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
In Indiana we call this mush. You can slice it and fry it. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
If you want to make "Authentic" polenta you must use polenta corn meal.. not just regular corn meal... its a courser grind than standard corn meal. It may be hard to find in your area .. best bet to find real polenta is a Italian market, Whole Foods or if you are fortunate in the ethnic section in a grocery store. the 3 to 1 ratio is good tho you need to add plenty of salt to the water since the polenta will soak it up fast. Stir constantly until almost done to avoid lumps. Once your polenta is almost al denta stir 2 tbls. butter to it and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
In Jamaica we boil down coconut juice with garlic,green onion,tomatoes.let the liquid boil for a few minutes (with a scotch bonnet pepper ),take the pepper out before adding the corneal,and just let it thickens, covering the pot for about ten minutes making sure the corneal is properly cooked. BTW in Jamaica we call it "tun cornmeal" (turn corneal)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Thank you to the person who explained what polenta was....I would have been one of the people wandering in the store looking for that product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I used part beef broth, and it turned out just great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
great with maple syrup or butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I haven't made polenta before, so my experience based on this recipe could have turned out poor since I could have been waiting 20-50 minutes for something to happen to make waiting that long worthwhile. It turned out that my polenta was ready in significantly less time and might have burned if I had kept waiting longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaptMicha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brookeville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I have to say this was really easy to make. I love corn meal and the things you can make with it and I always wanted to try polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1trinikitti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arima, Arima Borough, Trinidad And Tobago

Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States