Polenta with Spicy Sausage-Veggie Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Love this! I double the recipe to make a large cassarole dish for the holidays. I layer polenta, then parmasan, then sausage sauce, then mozzarella. Then again, parm., sauce, and mozz. and bake at 375F for 30 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Ercolini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I used to make something very similar to this that I got out of an Italian mafia cookbook. I baked it as a casserole. I would prepare the polenta, then spread it on the bottom of a 9X13 plan and refridgerate it until it firmed up. Then, spread the cooked sausage filling on top and finish with more polenta on top of that and of course lots of cheese! The top browns in the oven and it is sooooooooo yummy. I can't tell you how many compliments I receive on it. For even more cheeziness, layer provolone slices between. Scrumptous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This recipe was awesome as it was. I hate it when other people alter it in reviews (not fair if it's a different recipe) but I will say this so no one makes the same mistake I did: make sure your sauce has garlic in it, otherwise it won't be just right. Not sure how I managed to buy the only kind without it but.... If you do this, this recipe rocks as it is and will be made again and again in our house. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mj_sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gunnison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Great idea to serve polenta with veggies in tomato sauce like that especially with italian sausage. I have made some modifications however: instead of spaghetti sauce i used a 24 oz can of crushed tomatoes, i have added 3 crushed cloves of garlic and about a teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes. I also made the polenta instead of buying it and didn't do the broiling part which actually sounds really good. (To make the polenta just bring water to a simmer and slowly add corn meal mixing constantly; let cook for about 5 mins)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missmiavega

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palestine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
We enjoyed this last night! I used a vegetarian sausage and made the polenta for more flavor. This is a quick recipe that you won't feel guilty about!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Very very tasty veggie, meat and sauce mix. I used spicy turkey italian sausage and egg[plant because it was what I had handy. I made homemade polenta with a a recipe off the back of the stone ground cornmeal bag. The polenta itself is very plain, but absorbs the sauce and is pretty tasty for what it is. I got the "go ahead and make this again" from my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorroth1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Man, was this delicious! I used spicy turkey sausage, an orange pepper, and larger quantities of all the vegetables than it called for, but I don't think any of those changes substantially affected the dish. While I don't think the polenta added much to the dish, the sauce was wonderful and would be delicious over pasta too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This is now a go-to recipe for me for quick dinners. I used veggie crumbles because I'm vegetarian and made my own creamy polenta (from this site) and didn't bake it. Yes, I know it's not exactly the same, but this recipe was great inspiration! Makes me wonder why I haven't been making polenta all my life :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
YUM!!! I used turkey sausage instead of bulk Italian sausage and used a 24 oz jar of spaghetti sauce instead of a 16 oz jar. Also added a small amount of some random spices (oregano, pepper, salt). Delicious! Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Lasich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States