Polenta with Spicy Sausage-Veggie Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This recipe was awesome as it was. I hate it when other people alter it in reviews (not fair if it's a different recipe) but I will say this so no one makes the same mistake I did: make sure your sauce has garlic in it, otherwise it won't be just right. Not sure how I managed to buy the only kind without it but.... If you do this, this recipe rocks as it is and will be made again and again in our house. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mj_sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gunnison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Love this! I double the recipe to make a large cassarole dish for the holidays. I layer polenta, then parmasan, then sausage sauce, then mozzarella. Then again, parm., sauce, and mozz. and bake at 375F for 30 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Ercolini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I used to make something very similar to this that I got out of an Italian mafia cookbook. I baked it as a casserole. I would prepare the polenta, then spread it on the bottom of a 9X13 plan and refridgerate it until it firmed up. Then, spread the cooked sausage filling on top and finish with more polenta on top of that and of course lots of cheese! The top browns in the oven and it is sooooooooo yummy. I can't tell you how many compliments I receive on it. For even more cheeziness, layer provolone slices between. Scrumptous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missmiavega

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palestine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Great idea to serve polenta with veggies in tomato sauce like that especially with italian sausage. I have made some modifications however: instead of spaghetti sauce i used a 24 oz can of crushed tomatoes, i have added 3 crushed cloves of garlic and about a teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes. I also made the polenta instead of buying it and didn't do the broiling part which actually sounds really good. (To make the polenta just bring water to a simmer and slowly add corn meal mixing constantly; let cook for about 5 mins)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
We enjoyed this last night! I used a vegetarian sausage and made the polenta for more flavor. This is a quick recipe that you won't feel guilty about!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Yummy, yummy, yummy. Who needs pasta when you get polenta?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Very very tasty veggie, meat and sauce mix. I used spicy turkey italian sausage and egg[plant because it was what I had handy. I made homemade polenta with a a recipe off the back of the stone ground cornmeal bag. The polenta itself is very plain, but absorbs the sauce and is pretty tasty for what it is. I got the "go ahead and make this again" from my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Krol Rothfuss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
YUM!!! I used turkey sausage instead of bulk Italian sausage and used a 24 oz jar of spaghetti sauce instead of a 16 oz jar. Also added a small amount of some random spices (oregano, pepper, salt). Delicious! Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
EXCELLENT RECIPE...wouldn't change a thing. I wasn't sure if the polenta was supposed to brown (nothing seemed to be happening), so I just let it crust a bit. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States