Polenta with Spicy Sausage-Veggie Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Great idea to serve polenta with veggies in tomato sauce like that especially with italian sausage. I have made some modifications however: instead of spaghetti sauce i used a 24 oz can of crushed tomatoes, i have added 3 crushed cloves of garlic and about a teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes. I also made the polenta instead of buying it and didn't do the broiling part which actually sounds really good. (To make the polenta just bring water to a simmer and slowly add corn meal mixing constantly; let cook for about 5 mins)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I used to make something very similar to this that I got out of an Italian mafia cookbook. I baked it as a casserole. I would prepare the polenta, then spread it on the bottom of a 9X13 plan and refridgerate it until it firmed up. Then, spread the cooked sausage filling on top and finish with more polenta on top of that and of course lots of cheese! The top browns in the oven and it is sooooooooo yummy. I can't tell you how many compliments I receive on it. For even more cheeziness, layer provolone slices between. Scrumptous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
to say that i am a novice cook is generous. but im getting there. :) ive been wanting to try polenta and when i stumbled on this recipe, i figured it may be a good start. this was SO good. i used hot italian turkey sausage and green squash since thats what i could find. i loved it and my boyfriend loved it. a definate keeper. i did feel like there was more sauce in relation to the polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This was delicious! My whole family enjoyed this dish. The next time I make it, however, I will make more polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bunnyslippers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I didnt care for the texture. The taste was ok the first couple bites but then it became kinda blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This is now a go-to recipe for me for quick dinners. I used veggie crumbles because I'm vegetarian and made my own creamy polenta (from this site) and didn't bake it. Yes, I know it's not exactly the same, but this recipe was great inspiration! Makes me wonder why I haven't been making polenta all my life :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This was great!! I used homemade sauce and veggie crumbles instead of sausage but otherwise followed the directions exactly. We'll definitely be making this one a lot. The veggies came out perfectly after 7 minutes on the stove. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Man, was this delicious! I used spicy turkey sausage, an orange pepper, and larger quantities of all the vegetables than it called for, but I don't think any of those changes substantially affected the dish. While I don't think the polenta added much to the dish, the sauce was wonderful and would be delicious over pasta too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I made this with turkey sausage, so I added a little crushed red pepper. Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenbridges
Home Town: Buford, Georgia, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Yummy! Even my hubby, who isn't a fan of polenta, raved about it several hours later. I couldn't find tubed polenta, so I used instant from a box, then spread it on a cookie sheet and baked it. After baking, I cut it into rounds and broiled it with havarti on top before adding the veggie mixture. (you need to add your own seasoning to the mix). I'll be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States