Polenta Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Made this with store-bought polenta and oven baked them like I would regular french fries. It was really good, though more chewy than crispy. A bit too chewy for my two-and-a-half year old, but my four-year old loved them. Couldn't give them to the baby as a finger food like I had been hoping. I'd make it again only if I had some store-bought polenta kicking around, which I don't usually. I don't think I'd make homemade for this, but then that might make it better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Add generous amount of Mexican cheese, and chopped green chilies while still soft. After frying top with chunky chili. Your men-folk will eat until they're stupid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
My kids were not a fan of this one. NOT the fault of the recipe, I liked it well enough. I served them with pasta sauce. Sorry:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Worth all of the time to make them the right way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason L. Bell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I found this recipe yesterday and had a roll of polenta in the pantry and tried this for supper. I was very disappointed. They never did crisp up and were very bland. I really wanted to like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Bradford

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orono, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I liked these, though I didn't follow the recipe exactly, and used it more for inspiration than anything else. I used a tube of store-bought, prep-prepared seasoned polenta, and just sliced into fry shapes then baked in my countertop oven for about 20 minutes at 400. A nice change of pace, but it got mixed reviews - three adults liked it, but the fourth thought it was just so-so. If I make this again I'll definitely add additional seasonings, such as salt, pepper, and perhaps chili powder to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
great with marinara sauce. just really need chicken stock, garlic powder and corn meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I used a roll of seasoned ready made polenta and cut it into fries per a past suggestions and baked them in the oven. It took about 45 - 60 minutes and I upped the heat to 400 degrees to crisp them up. They were good with marinara dip. A little different texture than I expected, but would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I had a tube of polenta sitting in the cupboard that has been crying out for a new recipe. I sliced it into strip (approx 1/2" wide), then brushed with olive oil and sprinkled with salt, pepper, parmesan & chopped parsley. I used the oven method, but it took way longer than 10 minutes per side. I left them in the oven for approx 60-70 minutes, they were just starting to brown but were nice and soft in the middle. They were great on their own, but now I'm on the lookout for the perfect dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States