Poke Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by NomNomDelicious
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Used this recipe to make cupcakes! I put less batter into the cupcake cup than I normally would so it would make small, flat cupcakes. When I was making the holes for the jell-o, I stuck a small fork into each cupcake about four time and wiggled it around before pulling it out so the holes would be big enough. Then I just spooned the jell-o individually on to each cupcake using a regular old tablespoon until all of the jell-o was gone. They turned out great with a dollop of whipped cream and garnished with some silver sprinkles and pomegranate seeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NomNomDelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Deliciously moist. Used wood skewer to poke holes and topped with fresh berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Good flavor and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hill City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
My MIL makes this all the time, accept she makes it in a 9x13 pan. I think the layer cake will make it much prettier! I made if for the Fourth of July this year and topped it with blueberries, raspberries and strawberries to make a flag. I alway use strawberry jello, but I bet other flavors would be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
These cakes are soo fun and pretty to make. Any cake, pudding or jello can be used in countless combination's. Very refreshing and the kids love to help decorate it. Thank You Karin, I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by GreedyGretchen
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
very very tasty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreedyGretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Station, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sylva, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
My mom has made a cake similar to this for years...the only difference is...after she pokes the cake and pours the jello over, she coats the cake with a layer of vanilla pudding (stovetop, not instant!!), and then "frosts" it with cool whip. The pudding really adds something! YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I used to make this all the time and am making it for coffee hour at church this Sunday. AND I'm making it with the diet sprite and sugar free jello - an elderly member of church told me that's how she makes it and it's delicious. However, I do remember that we used to "poke" this with the handle of a wooden spoon leaving nice holes for the Jello to go down. This is an old recipe that always goes over really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxyquilter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I used the sturdy whipped topping from this site and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Air force wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sam84jo
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This cake is so refreshing. I baked it for Valentines day and it was DE-LISH! Very versatile, next time I may to orange jello w/ mandarin oranges on top! Was going to bring this cake to work on Friday, so baked the cake mix on Wed. poked, poured jello, and frosted on Thursday and took to work on Friday morning. Will definitely make again! **I made this again w/ devils food cake, black cherry jello, and choc fudge frosting w/ marchino cherries on time. "Black Forest Cake" OMG! AMAZING! Will def. make again!**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States