Poke Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
So perfect for a hot summer's day!! You can make this cake ultra-low sugar/fat by using the cake mix and using only ONE CAN of DIET SPRITE or DIET 7-UP for the liquid. That's right - nothing but the cake mix and a can of soda. Mix them up and bake the cake as directed. Use sugar-free jello and fat-free whipped topping. Top with fruit. I use white cake and orange-flavored gelatin topped with mandarin oranges and fresh mint sprigs. You'd NEVER know this was so light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINMOMMY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2001
This is even easier in a 13X9 pan. I also use thawed strawberries and mix them with the whip cream. It makes presentation more elaborate, and it's good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: American Fork, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
I absolutely love pokecake. My family has been making this for years, and I looked up the recipe to make it for my friends one day (who were doubtful anything with jello poured on top of it could be good). I've had many requests for it since! I usually make it in a 13x9 pan, though I have made cupcakes, too. (Use the plain aluminum cupcake liners.) The nice thing about poke cupcakes is that you can also coordinate the jello color to the holiday (orange-flavored and dark berry for Halloween, lime and strawberry for Christmas, etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
My Grandmother used to make this when I was young! Here is her recipe: 1 cake mix (we use yellow cake) bake cake normal & cool to luke warm, then poke holes with fork, making sure to go all the way to the bottom of the pan 2 (3oz) jello or 1 large jello (we use strawberry and sugar free works well too) mix with 1.5 cups boiling water and 1.5 cups of flavored soda (strawberry to match the jello flavor) stir well and cool...pour slowly over the top of cake, don't worry about over saturation...and refrigerate FROSTING: One small box of instant vanilla pudding (french vanilla adds an extra touch), 1.5 cups of cold milk and whip until firm...then fold in 4-5 oz of cool whip... top the cake and refrigerate until serving my mom uses different combinations...yellow cake with lemon/lime jello and sprite...or chocolate cake with cherry jello and wild cherry pop, the combinations are endless! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUBFAN71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NomNomDelicious
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Used this recipe to make cupcakes! I put less batter into the cupcake cup than I normally would so it would make small, flat cupcakes. When I was making the holes for the jell-o, I stuck a small fork into each cupcake about four time and wiggled it around before pulling it out so the holes would be big enough. Then I just spooned the jell-o individually on to each cupcake using a regular old tablespoon until all of the jell-o was gone. They turned out great with a dollop of whipped cream and garnished with some silver sprinkles and pomegranate seeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NomNomDelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
This was by far the BEST cake I have ever made for a birthday cake for my family. Absolutely delicious and mouthwatering- more moist than ANY storebought cake! Instead of the usual oil/eggs, I added 1/4 C applesauce and 4 egg whites, you would never be able to tell the difference because the gelatin made it sooo moist! (even used sugar-free gelatin and lite whipped topping.. my little secret!!)I'm sure it would be just as delectable with the full fat ingredients--but if you can save a few calories with this low fat alteration, why not?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
This recipe is very good and easy to make. I have made it with the white cake mix and strawberry jello and it was excellent. Also, I just made this with a chocolate cake mix and black cherry jello. It tasted like a black forest cake, very delicious. I plan to try it with a coconut cake and lime jello. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
Delicious!! I have made this recipe for friends, family, and co-workers and each one asked for the recipe. To their surprise it was so simple. I added sweetened strawberry puree to the whipped topping to give it a "homemade" feel then drizzled the puree over the cake when I served it. Looks and tastes restaraunt quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
Awesome recipe...I mixed sweetened coconut with the whipped cream and it tasted like it belonged there :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
Besides that I am an obvious Jello fan, I liked this cake (which I first saw on the jello.com website - an amazing site by the way) because it it easy and fun to make and the kids love it. We made one at Christmas that was red and green jelloed and then made some small Jello jigglers of gingerbread men and Christmas trees and such to decorate the top. It was moist and the frosting wasn't so sickening sweet that it prevented you from having an extra slice without feeling ill. Like I said - it's a fun cake - have the kids help make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States