Poke Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I really love poke cakes. I used strawberry and lime jello because that;s what I had on hand. Next time I'm going to steer away from lime jello though, it was a little tangy for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnnabonna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This was super easy and a big hit at my daughter's potluck dinner for school. I didn't even have any left to bring home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
This recipe is great. However, I wasn't sure if I was suppose to let the dissolved jello cool before I spooned it over the cakes...I ended up just spooning it on right away, without letting it cool, and it seemed to work fine but I wonder how everyone else has done it and whether one way is better than the other? Also, I think next time I would use two containers of whipped topping so I could make a really thick inside layer between the two cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
So perfect for a hot summer's day!! You can make this cake ultra-low sugar/fat by using the cake mix and using only ONE CAN of DIET SPRITE or DIET 7-UP for the liquid. That's right - nothing but the cake mix and a can of soda. Mix them up and bake the cake as directed. Use sugar-free jello and fat-free whipped topping. Top with fruit. I use white cake and orange-flavored gelatin topped with mandarin oranges and fresh mint sprigs. You'd NEVER know this was so light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINMOMMY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Like one review said, this is a great base recipe. I think that regardless of which kind of cake you use and which type of jello you choose, this recipe is a great one. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This was so easy, I baked my own double sponge recipe and followed the recipe, I used fresh whipped cream (I live in Australia and have no idea what frozen whipped topping is). My family ate half and the remainder went to my aging neighbours - they loved it. They have dentures and proudly declared that this was the best cake that they have ever eaten as they did not require their teeth to be in!! Thank you Karin from my family and Ken and Esme next door.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
This is a great base recipe. The variations on this are seemingly endless. I've used different cake flavors, different jello flavors, and even pudding instead of jello. The kids in my family enjoy these cakes, and even the adults can be seen sneaking seconds. Play around with this...if nothing else, the kids will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
This was a good cake! I used lemon flavored jello and not only did it taste good, but it also looked pretty with the yellow stripes running throughout the cake. This is an easy cake to make...and very very good. I will keep this recipe and make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
This is all right...wouldn't make again though. The jello made it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
For me...it was just all right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina Farahmandi Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States