Poke Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I've made this many times (got it from a Kraft calendar recipe). I use the lemon jello and fold in lemon pudding (mixed, not dry) into the whipped cream. Very tasty. Beatiful garnished w/ lemon slices & lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somecookin'
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This cake is REALLY yummy. I always make it for my girls birthdays- and now my father-in-law requests it for his!(with Blueberry Jello) However, I don't use frozen whipped topping- I made it once, and it ruined the cake- So, I just make my own icing, using "Best White Icing Ever" by megan. It makes it sooooo much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somecookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
This is the cake we ate every summer at July fourth. We love it! Can also be served with fresh berries. Or bake the cake in a 13X9 pan and use strawberries and blueberries to decorate into a US flag. Thank you for a great reminder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Loved it. Used lemon jello and then garnished with lemon zest and mint leaves. Never knew a cake could be so refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Try this: mix one (4 serving size) instant pudding with one cup of milk. Fold it with the whip topping before frosting. I used lemon jello and lemon pudding. It made a cake eater out of my cake avoiding husband. IT's excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2007
This recipe is very good and easy to make. I have made it with the white cake mix and strawberry jello and it was excellent. Also, I just made this with a chocolate cake mix and black cherry jello. It tasted like a black forest cake, very delicious. I plan to try it with a coconut cake and lime jello. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
this was very tasty, I used strawberry jello, put strawberries in between the two layers and served with sliced strawberries, however I think I will skip the whole layer thing and do it in a 9x13 pan next time seems like it would be much easier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I make this all the time. Everyone loves it. I get compliments all the time when I bring this to parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
I have been looking for this recipe for years. My grandmother used to make it for us kids at Christmas. While I still love it, I cannot say that everyone else in my family loved it as much. Will still give it 5 stars though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bowhead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I really love poke cakes. I used strawberry and lime jello because that;s what I had on hand. Next time I'm going to steer away from lime jello though, it was a little tangy for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnnabonna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States