Poke Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Very easy and moist cake. I didn't really like the whipped cream as frosting though, next time I will not frost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bfoulger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NomNomDelicious
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Used this recipe to make cupcakes! I put less batter into the cupcake cup than I normally would so it would make small, flat cupcakes. When I was making the holes for the jell-o, I stuck a small fork into each cupcake about four time and wiggled it around before pulling it out so the holes would be big enough. Then I just spooned the jell-o individually on to each cupcake using a regular old tablespoon until all of the jell-o was gone. They turned out great with a dollop of whipped cream and garnished with some silver sprinkles and pomegranate seeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NomNomDelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Deliciously moist. Used wood skewer to poke holes and topped with fresh berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Good flavor and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hill City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
My MIL makes this all the time, accept she makes it in a 9x13 pan. I think the layer cake will make it much prettier! I made if for the Fourth of July this year and topped it with blueberries, raspberries and strawberries to make a flag. I alway use strawberry jello, but I bet other flavors would be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
These cakes are soo fun and pretty to make. Any cake, pudding or jello can be used in countless combination's. Very refreshing and the kids love to help decorate it. Thank You Karin, I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by GreedyGretchen
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
very very tasty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreedyGretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Station, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sylva, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
My mom has made a cake similar to this for years...the only difference is...after she pokes the cake and pours the jello over, she coats the cake with a layer of vanilla pudding (stovetop, not instant!!), and then "frosts" it with cool whip. The pudding really adds something! YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I used to make this all the time and am making it for coffee hour at church this Sunday. AND I'm making it with the diet sprite and sugar free jello - an elderly member of church told me that's how she makes it and it's delicious. However, I do remember that we used to "poke" this with the handle of a wooden spoon leaving nice holes for the Jello to go down. This is an old recipe that always goes over really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxyquilter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I used the sturdy whipped topping from this site and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Air force wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States