Poinsettia Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
The recipe i originally submitted, before being accepted and edited, said to use about 20 drops of red food color to make the cookies. Since then, I have decided that i like the way the cookies look much better when i use red gel food color from the craft store. I just keep adding little dabs of color and mixing until i get the perfect color. And I roll the cookie balls in the red decorator sugar before they are cut into sixths for the petals...In my original recipe i also said that i baked the cookies on sheets lined with aluminum foil (dull side up, so as not to burn the cookies!) so that I could peel them off easier after baking. Hope this helps, because when done right, these cookies are such a pretty and yummy addition to any christmas cookie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
If you use food coloring instead of paste you're going to end up with pink cookies. Use paste instead to get a true red color. The cookies themselves are yummy and pretty! I love sugarplum's picture in this recipe. Her cookies always rock!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DitzyDame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Question. Reviewers commented that these cookies turned out pink, not red. Could it be because there is nowhere in the recipe instructions that tell you when to add the red decorator sugar? So, when do you add it? Sounds like these would be a hit if they turned out red. :0) ( Oh, the 5 stars are for your beautiful cookies and photos!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I followed the directions exactly. They weren't easy to make, but they turned out beautifully. It was worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
These were absolutely wonderful. I found that it was imperative to make the little cuts quickly after they came out of the fridge. That made it much easier to tug the little sections apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArizonaGal21

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poplar Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Beautiful! I use very sharp scissors to make petals -- found to be much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Great Christmas recipe, except I used yellow M&m's in the middle instead of icing. Just push in center when cookies come out of oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiester Mom of 3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kiester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I thought these cookies tasted really good but they didn't look nearly as attractive as in the picture. The dough is hard to work with. I think next time I will try a cookie press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made these today and am glad I baked one sheet of cookies and waited to see how they turned out before baking the rest. The recipe does not say how big to make the balls of dough, I made them walnut-sized and really should have made them slightly smaller. Also the recipe does not say to pull apart the petals before baking, but you MUST SEPARATE the petals BEFORE baking, they do not separate themselves during baking. Once I figured out those two points the rest turned out pretty. I will likely make these again, they are a colorful addition to the holiday cookie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Taste so GOOOOOOD!!!!!! But so hard to make in flower shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natgagnon1984

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierrefonds, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Alexandria, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States