Poinsettia Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Taste so GOOOOOOD!!!!!! But so hard to make in flower shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natgagnon1984

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierrefonds, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Alexandria, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made these today and am glad I baked one sheet of cookies and waited to see how they turned out before baking the rest. The recipe does not say how big to make the balls of dough, I made them walnut-sized and really should have made them slightly smaller. Also the recipe does not say to pull apart the petals before baking, but you MUST SEPARATE the petals BEFORE baking, they do not separate themselves during baking. Once I figured out those two points the rest turned out pretty. I will likely make these again, they are a colorful addition to the holiday cookie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Beautiful! I use very sharp scissors to make petals -- found to be much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Lacked flavor, and very tricky to get the shape right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
These were absolutely wonderful. I found that it was imperative to make the little cuts quickly after they came out of the fridge. That made it much easier to tug the little sections apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArizonaGal21

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poplar Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I followed the directions exactly. They weren't easy to make, but they turned out beautifully. It was worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I'm making them now and right off the bat, I can see a problem. Just mixed the dough and there is no way to start rolling into balls! Dough is too sticky. It's in the refrigerator now to firm it up so I can handle it. I'll be anxious to see how this all turns out. I'm sure they won't look like the picture but I'm heck bent on trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lady.dragonfly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chris & Pat
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
These are very pretty but they don't have a lot of flavor. They are pretty bland. I used a natural food coloring so mine were pink which was fine with me. I like pink pointsettias. I also used mini chocolate chips or peanut butter chips in the middle instead of the icing. Next time I will reserve a bit of dough, color it yellow and roll up tiny balls to press in the middle before baking. In order to get the pretty shape you need to first make the slices in the dough ball, then gently pull the pieces out from the center. They will look like flowers before you bake them so keep working with the dough ball to work the petals into the shape you want before baking. They do not unfold on their own during baking so you need to do that before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Question. Reviewers commented that these cookies turned out pink, not red. Could it be because there is nowhere in the recipe instructions that tell you when to add the red decorator sugar? So, when do you add it? Sounds like these would be a hit if they turned out red. :0) ( Oh, the 5 stars are for your beautiful cookies and photos!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
The recipe i originally submitted, before being accepted and edited, said to use about 20 drops of red food color to make the cookies. Since then, I have decided that i like the way the cookies look much better when i use red gel food color from the craft store. I just keep adding little dabs of color and mixing until i get the perfect color. And I roll the cookie balls in the red decorator sugar before they are cut into sixths for the petals...In my original recipe i also said that i baked the cookies on sheets lined with aluminum foil (dull side up, so as not to burn the cookies!) so that I could peel them off easier after baking. Hope this helps, because when done right, these cookies are such a pretty and yummy addition to any christmas cookie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States