Pocket Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
very easy to make--i added 1 Tbs honey because i have never made anything with yeast that did not have a sugar and made with 1/2 ww pasty flour--turned out great either baked in the oven or fried in pan. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This recipe was fun and easy to make. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
This bread reminded me of Indian fry bread, without the fat! Nice bready taste, and good texture. I do think, though, the breads need to be rolled out a little thinner to get a less dense bread for easier folding. But this is a great recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Wonderful Pita bread! This was better than Pappy's, puffed up very nicely and had a great flavor. Was easy to roll out as well. I added 2tbsp of light (in flavor) olive oil to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
This was a great recipe. I used 4 cups whole wheat pastry flour and 2 cups all purpose flour. I rolled these in the traditional circles and they puffed up beautifully. Everyone was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Pretty good! The only thing I was a little off about was that they took a while to soften up but they made great pockets and taste great! Once I had divided the dough, I kneaded each piece for another 2 minutes before rolling out and I think that may have helped them puff better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
very good, to get a thicker bread than they sell in the supermarket
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
I've made this twice and it worked well both times, but the pockets formed better when I rolled the dough thinner. I also tried it with about 1/3 wheat flour and with a soy-flour mix, and both were great. I enjoy mine as sandwiches, with hummus, or just dipped in olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
These pocket breads, which I made with half whole wheat flour, turned out nice and soft. They didn't, however, have much of a "pocket." That's ok though. They were still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2003
This pocket bread turned out pretty good. The pockets formed well, and it was easy to make. It was a little too bland for my *personal* taste, however I think that was just personal preference. Next time I will try adding a little honey just to suit my own taste. Overall a pretty good recipe that can be easily modified to meet one's own personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States