Poblano Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
Delicious chowder. Very rich. I followed the recipe exactly except for the poblano chile pepper. I couldn't find any at my grocery store, so I substituted a 4 oz. can of Old El Paso chopped green chilies. Ortega would work too. If you've ever had the Shrimp Chowder at Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy, this is very, very close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I really liked this recipe but added other ingredients on my own. I couldn't find the Lobster base and think that would have made a big difference. I added three large red potatoes chopped with skin, doubled the corn and shrimp amounts, 1/2 tspn of cayenne pepper, 1 can Rotelle, 1/2 bag of chopped frozen green and red peppers. I will decrease the amount of cream next time to make it thicker instead of creamier. Served with wheat baguette and baked cheese chips. Our friends raved over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
Absolutely delicious. It tastes a lot like a soup I get at a mexican restaurant in Atlanta. I didn't use the lobster base since I couldn't find it but will definitely do so the next time I make this. The only other change I made was to use cayenne pepper in place of the other dried pepper and I used precooked shrimp. My chowder was really thick once it started to cool down some so I added a little canned chicken broth to thin it out some. I'm looking forward to the next time I can make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
Just the right combination of flavors -- both refreshing and comforting. The whole family loved this one. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galley Wench

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Very good! I cut the recipe in half & I couldn't find lobster base so I used a cup of stock from a seafood boil & a cup of milk in place of the half & half (I was out)...worked really well but I will continue my quest for lobster base. I was also out of celery so I subbed a bit of celery seed for flavor & I cut back on the sugar some. It's Hatch chile season here in Texas so I used a Hatch chile instead of a poblano...I thought it still needed more heat so I added a tsp of hubby's hot sauce (it's HOT)...YUMMM! This soup is quite rich & very good...thansk Naiveray. I served it w/ a salad w/ vidalia onion vinaigrette, homemade french bread rolls & a glass of white zin...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I have a coffee shop and when I make this, customers rave. One day I had three ladies order 9 bowls to go! People call in to see when I'm making it. When I make it for home, my kids love it and they don't tend to be soup eaters. Thanks for this keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
VERY GOOD! I did substitute cayenne pepper for the chile de arbol and used chicken case instead of lobster base b/c it is not available here. Turned out fantastic! Everyone asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This is the recipe for the Poblano Corn Chowder served at the Sundown Cafe on Cheshire Bridge Road in Atlanta, GA. It was published in the AJC at a reader's request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This was good, however I think some changes would make it perfect. First, I didn't have lobster base so I had to leave it out. I thought it was to sweet, I will cut out 1/2 the sugar next time. The main issue I had was the lack of "stuff" in the soup. Next time I will add more poblano and corn and add some small potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
WOW! Amazing. I loved it and my daughter loved it even though she usually hates it when I try something new...she asked my to make it again 3 days later. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States