Poblano Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Man-oh-man this was good (and rich). And with a qt. of heavy cream and a qt of 1/2 & 1/2, it's also a cholesterol-raising heart attack in the making. I subsitituted the canned kernel corn with excellent, just-picked fresh sweet corn scraped from the cob. About 1 1/2 to 2 c of fresh kerne1s (for me, 3 large ears of corn) should replace the 15 oz. can. Why use canned at the height of corn season? I also threw the scraped cobs into the pot during Step 2 (after adding cream and 1/2 & 1/2). Infused it nicely with an intense corn taste. I wimped on the poblano - used a small one. I'll go bigger next time. Poblanos do get spicier the longer they linger, however. Due to the use of roux as a thickener, I think I may cut out some if not all of the cream next time and try whole milk, just to prolong my life span a little longer and see if it tastes close to the same. This was a big hit with everyone. Cream, 1/2 & 1/2, shrimp....what's not to love?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I've made this several times and I love it every time. I generally use a quart of half n half and a quart of 2% milk. It still comes out nice and thick, without making me worry about shaving ten years off my life expectancy. :) I use my food chopper to skip the puree step and experiment with extra veggies... carrots, etc work well. This recipe is pretty hard to mess up. :) I also omit the lobster base & shrimp, making it perfectly vegetarian. :) I've added Bacos (name brand bacon bits which are actually vegan!) before and that was good too. I've used every kind of chili known to man in this, and they all suit it well. :) Finally found a real poblano this time and used some ground habanero (still haven't found chile de arbol) and WHEW. Makes ya sweat, but YUM! :) Definitely makes more than 8 servings. I use my biggest sauce pan (normal largest size in your pan sets) and it fills it to about an inch from the top (but I usually throw in some extra corn too - use fresh if you have it!). It's great leftover though, which isn't always the case with dairy based soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Danika
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I think the servings might be a little off. I got about 15 bowls of soup out of this recipe. However, it was so good that it was probably only at 4 different sittings for 2 people each. Also, in an attempt to reduce the fat, I substituted whole milk for the heavy cream, and it was still pretty thick. All around...aces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
This was so great! I lightened it up by using one quart of whole milk and one quart of chicken stock. It still thickened nicely from the roux and tasted velvety and rich. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
WOW! Amazing. I loved it and my daughter loved it even though she usually hates it when I try something new...she asked my to make it again 3 days later. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This was good, however I think some changes would make it perfect. First, I didn't have lobster base so I had to leave it out. I thought it was to sweet, I will cut out 1/2 the sugar next time. The main issue I had was the lack of "stuff" in the soup. Next time I will add more poblano and corn and add some small potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This is the recipe for the Poblano Corn Chowder served at the Sundown Cafe on Cheshire Bridge Road in Atlanta, GA. It was published in the AJC at a reader's request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
VERY GOOD! I did substitute cayenne pepper for the chile de arbol and used chicken case instead of lobster base b/c it is not available here. Turned out fantastic! Everyone asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I have a coffee shop and when I make this, customers rave. One day I had three ladies order 9 bowls to go! People call in to see when I'm making it. When I make it for home, my kids love it and they don't tend to be soup eaters. Thanks for this keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Very good! I cut the recipe in half & I couldn't find lobster base so I used a cup of stock from a seafood boil & a cup of milk in place of the half & half (I was out)...worked really well but I will continue my quest for lobster base. I was also out of celery so I subbed a bit of celery seed for flavor & I cut back on the sugar some. It's Hatch chile season here in Texas so I used a Hatch chile instead of a poblano...I thought it still needed more heat so I added a tsp of hubby's hot sauce (it's HOT)...YUMMM! This soup is quite rich & very good...thansk Naiveray. I served it w/ a salad w/ vidalia onion vinaigrette, homemade french bread rolls & a glass of white zin...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States