Poblano Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Danika
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I think the servings might be a little off. I got about 15 bowls of soup out of this recipe. However, it was so good that it was probably only at 4 different sittings for 2 people each. Also, in an attempt to reduce the fat, I substituted whole milk for the heavy cream, and it was still pretty thick. All around...aces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
This was so great! I lightened it up by using one quart of whole milk and one quart of chicken stock. It still thickened nicely from the roux and tasted velvety and rich. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
WOW! Amazing. I loved it and my daughter loved it even though she usually hates it when I try something new...she asked my to make it again 3 days later. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This was good, however I think some changes would make it perfect. First, I didn't have lobster base so I had to leave it out. I thought it was to sweet, I will cut out 1/2 the sugar next time. The main issue I had was the lack of "stuff" in the soup. Next time I will add more poblano and corn and add some small potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This is the recipe for the Poblano Corn Chowder served at the Sundown Cafe on Cheshire Bridge Road in Atlanta, GA. It was published in the AJC at a reader's request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
VERY GOOD! I did substitute cayenne pepper for the chile de arbol and used chicken case instead of lobster base b/c it is not available here. Turned out fantastic! Everyone asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I have a coffee shop and when I make this, customers rave. One day I had three ladies order 9 bowls to go! People call in to see when I'm making it. When I make it for home, my kids love it and they don't tend to be soup eaters. Thanks for this keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Very good! I cut the recipe in half & I couldn't find lobster base so I used a cup of stock from a seafood boil & a cup of milk in place of the half & half (I was out)...worked really well but I will continue my quest for lobster base. I was also out of celery so I subbed a bit of celery seed for flavor & I cut back on the sugar some. It's Hatch chile season here in Texas so I used a Hatch chile instead of a poblano...I thought it still needed more heat so I added a tsp of hubby's hot sauce (it's HOT)...YUMMM! This soup is quite rich & very good...thansk Naiveray. I served it w/ a salad w/ vidalia onion vinaigrette, homemade french bread rolls & a glass of white zin...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
Just the right combination of flavors -- both refreshing and comforting. The whole family loved this one. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galley Wench
Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
Absolutely delicious. It tastes a lot like a soup I get at a mexican restaurant in Atlanta. I didn't use the lobster base since I couldn't find it but will definitely do so the next time I make this. The only other change I made was to use cayenne pepper in place of the other dried pepper and I used precooked shrimp. My chowder was really thick once it started to cool down some so I added a little canned chicken broth to thin it out some. I'm looking forward to the next time I can make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States